Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Never Give A Democrat A Cookie…Or Pie…Or Lobster October 19, 2010

Remember this quote from Michelle Obama back during the 2008 campaign days?

The truth is, in order to get things like universal health care and a revamped education system, then someone is going to have to give up a piece of their pie so that someone else can have more.

—Michelle Obama

But Michelle never really gave up her $500 Lanvin tennis shoes, or trips to Spain for lobster fest …

I did and here is my story…

Sunday, I went grocery shopping as usual. Campbell’s soup was 10 cans for 10$, so I got some of those.  Brownberry bread was buy one get one free with my shoppers card.  I passed my favorite Sugar Wafer cookies by Nabisco- eek $4.99.  I went on by.  At the deli stand I requested Swiss cheese, smoked turkey and “Old Fashioned Loaf” meat.

While rolling by the seafood stand I espied two gorgeous large lobster tails.  There was a sale sign that said $5.99 each.  My eyes blinked in disbelief.   Scallops were nearby and they were beauties also.  Being economical, I asked for some salmon fillets.  The seafood clerk wrapped my fillets in the familiar white butcher paper and slapped the price tag on.   I had hardly noticed his outstretched hand because I was still gazing at the lobster tails.

“Miss,” he said waving the salmon.  “Is that all?”

I shook off my lobster lust and nodded my head grabbing the package of salmon.

The next stop was the meat counter for beef stew meat and a few steaks.  Surf and Turf was calling my name.  Still had a bit of gas in the grill- this could be the last hurrah so to speak for grilling season.  Okay, okay, okay…I will get the lobster tails.  My cart did a 90 degree turn and I smiled widely and told the seafood clerk ”  I have decided to get those lobster tails.”

I pointed to the only two lobster tails in the display case.  “Those,”  I claimed, chest sticking out like a peacock.   Afrocity gonna feast on some lobster TONIGHT!!!

The melted butter and lemon smell was aromatically playing over and over in my head.  My little treat for me too bad mother is dead- well not that it mattered- she was allergic to shellfish anyway.   Baked potatoes would be a great pairing- get in my Michelle Obama veggies-

“Forty-five dollars .”

And I could maybe invite my dad over to share or eat both tails my- ” HUH?”

“Forty-five dollars.”

NO!!!!  I looked at the sale sign and pointed ” It says lobster tails  $5.99 each -”

The seafood man came around the counter and laughed. ” Oh, that. That sale is for the small tails.  I am out of those.”

I must have looked like someone just told me Christmas was canceled because the poor man shrugged his shoulders and looked guilty.  ” The tails you pointed out are large tails, they are like twenty something each…”

I walked away from the counter.

“You don’t still want these? I wrapped them-”

With a grinch snarl, I shook my head and made a speedy getaway with my shopping cart. How embarrassing.  For a moment I thought just spend the $45.  If I put back the vanity light bulbs, fancy ravioli, Welch’s pomegranate blueberry juice with added fiber, Patsy’s Pasta Sauce, $4.99 Vanilla Chai Protein drink…the ten cans of soup- then maybe I could have the lobster tails.  And what does that counter seafood guy think of my race now?

“Cheap black people always want something for nothing.”

Maybe I should buy the tails just to prove that African American can afford lobster.

You see, even Afrocity succumbs to racial brainwashing at times.

When all was debated in my head and done, I did not buy the lobster tails and had stuffed chicken breasts for dinner.

Not as appetizing as surf and turf but with the recession, I could not justify paying so much for a meal for lil’ ol me.

We all need to start making some changes to how our families eat. Now, everyone loves a good Sunday dinner. Me included. And there’s nothing wrong with that. The problem is when we eat Sunday dinner Monday through Saturday.

–Michelle Obama

Yes my thermostat was set to 75 degrees and Barry Obama would not like that either.

We can’t drive our SUVs and, you know, eat as much as we want and keep our homes on, you know, 72 degrees at all times, whether we’re living in the desert or we’re living in the tundra, and then just expect every other country is going to say OK, you know, you guys go ahead keep on using 25 percent of the world’s energy, even though you only account for 3 percent of the population, and we’ll be fine. Don’t worry about us. That’s not leadership.

~~ Barack Obama


So I did not give up my piece of the pie.  I am selfish but turning my back on the lobster tails was a start…wasn’t it?

Anyway, this humorous video by RightChange explains why you should never give your piece of the pie or a cookie to a Democrat.


Autographed Letter Signed,

AFROCITY

 

6 Responses to “Never Give A Democrat A Cookie…Or Pie…Or Lobster”

  1. yttik Says:

    LOL, “if you give a Dem a cookie” was cute! Sad, but true. My state has half a dozen Dem initiatives involving taxing something, but we’re all really fed up with it , so I’m thinking they won’t get the votes.

    It’s kind of ironic, but if you grew up in the rural North, lobster, crab, salmon, are all poor people’s food. As kids many of us wanted boxed mac and cheese or spaghettiO’s, but we couldn’t afford store bought groceries. People around here fished and hunted. I remember whining as a kid, “no, not steak and prawns again!”

    We used to eat salads made with wild greens, which now days you can go buy in fancy restaurants as if it’s just the coolest thing. Arugula is a weed, people. It’s what we used to go out and collect because we were hungry and it was edible. It wasn’t until recently that it has became the preferred green of the DC elite.

    It’s kind of funny, lobster being the symbol of wealth. Lobster fisherman are some of the poorest people around. When I was a kid we used to think wealthy people ate TV dinners. When I was finally on my own, the first thing I did was fill my freezer with pot pies.

    • Janis Says:

      Yeah — store-bought means “you’ve made it” in a lot of places. Now, all the stuff we ate when I was little because my mom knew how to make it is $35 a plate in gourmet restaurants, and people admire me for knowing how to make gnocchi and chicken cacciatore by hand.

      Regarding how you were perceived regarding the lobster, AC, I’d wager he saw about seven dozen people’s eyes bug out over the price of those tails. You can be damn sure they’d have changed the sign if the large tails had gone first and there were a bunch of little ones there saying “$25/each.”

      • afrocity Says:

        It was silly of me Janice. I am a notorious over-tipper because African Americans are often labeled as bad tippers. I have actually heard this from friends who are waitstaff. So I tip too much.

        • Janis Says:

          Hey, like it or not, there ARE people who think that way. The trick is not giving a shit for their opinion, but it’s easier said than done.

          Go get one of those tails and keep it in the freezer for a special occasion. Like November 3rd. :->

  2. Janelle Says:

    A little curiosity……did the sign in front of the tails make any mention of weight or size?


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers