Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Live From The Obama Fallout Shelter July 27, 2010

There are certain times in life, when I maneuver conflict more gracefully than others.  For the times I don’t,  I retreat. Which is why I have been a non blog posting flake for the last two months.  Remember the old Afrocity who used to post once or more a day?  What happened to her?  Did she turn liberal again? Is she floating in the Chicago River face down with a “Sarah Palin  is a Cunt” tee shirt tied around her neck?  Clearly the victim was strangled before she was murdered and it was staged to appear as though the right wing turned on the poor misguided African American conservative.

And here lies the question.

Who can you trust nowadays?

Honestly, (and my dear readers will never have me any other way)  there are days when both sides get on my nerves.  Yes liberal readers, Afrocity does get fed up with conservatives at times. The abortion issue is one of those times.   I do not need the Christian Coalition Against Choice task-force sending me emails every time I author a pro-choice piece.

“It is not about government interference or privacy, it is about murder and against God’s will…yada, yada, yada, yada”

Nothing will make me anti-choice.  Sorry conservative Charlie.  And while we are at it, nothing will ever make me protest gay marriage.  It is not my business.  Having said that, you will never see Afrocity at a gay marriage rally either.  I check my activism at the door when it comes to matters concerning religion, life, death, abortion and marriage.  Meddling often overrides political common sense.  Gay marriage and abortion, have no place in a political discussion.  Both issues unnecessarily divide women and men who may otherwise choose different political parties if the conflict did not exist.  According to liberals, Sarah Palin could never be a feminist because she is pro-life.   In the world according to ass,  pro-life women do not want equal pay or the right to vote.  Why would a pro-life woman care about matters concerning breastfeeding in public or day care?  Pro-life women must love getting sexually harassed at work.

Only liberal women care about that sort of thing you know.

Resolutions to the abortion issue will never follow my lifetime because really, both parties do not want the conflict to end.  It creates much needed political tension and division.

Without divisions, there would be no base.

And speaking of political division… Democrats, before you begin licking your donkey chops, you should know that conservatives- the group with whom  I identify with the most- annoy me far less than most liberals do.  Far, far, far, far less.

The liberal tourist traffic frequenting the FOX NEWS/New Black Panther Party drama coupled with the press attention over the NAACP and the Tea Partiers has of late rendered me politically tone deaf.  Although the NAACP was useful during some stage in American history, after taking a look at their website site recently, I do not know what the hell they are doing besides fueling… well…racism.

Take a look at the lovely online exhibit of racist Tea Party signs the NAACP has curated:

I cannot tell you what the NAACP hopes to accomplish with this. You cannot truly fight racism unless you first cut the cancer from your own hypocritical backsliding throat.  Racism is racism.  You cannot call it racism when it only effects your special interest group.

This is the NAACP’s  pledge to “repudiate racism” in the Tea Party

  • I believe all Americans have equal rights and equal value.
  • I cherish the diverse cultures, beliefs, and values of America.
  • I believe we can disagree without being disagreeable.
  • I repudiate all acts of racism and hate, both in words and action.
  • I have faith in the promise of America – a promise built on mutual respect, common civility, and hope for a better tomorrow.
  • I commit to building that better America by participating actively and peacefully in the democratic process.
  • We are one people. We are one nation. I’m an NAACP American

That last line really troubles me. I am an American first.  Yes I am an African American.  I am a female who happens to be black.  I am surely not an “NAACP American”.  What does mean anyway?  Exploring the pledge further makes me wonder if the NAACP actually followed their own advice in the past and enforced the PLEDGE when the following Democrats said:

You think the Republican National Committee could get this many people of color in a single room? … Only if they had the hotel staff in here.”–Howard Dean

I’ve seen a lot of white niggers in my time” – Robert Byrd

He [RNC Chairman Michael Steel]has a career of slavishly supporting the Republican Party.“–Democrat Steny Hoyer

He’s [Clarence Thomas]  married to a white woman. He wants to be white. He wants a colorless society. He has no ethnic pride. He doesn’t want to be black.” -California Democrat Diane Watson

Would the NAACP ever hang this picture at headquarters?

Where was the NAACP when Condeleeza Rice was branded an Aunt Jemima along with colorful images of her clad in a red do rag and mammy doll’s clothing?

Where was the NAACP when African Americans made racist remarks against Hillary Clinton supporters- especially black Clinton supporters?

“At the end of the day, Hillary is still a white woman.”

Those words were spoken to me by my aunt- a rabid Obama supporter.  Her worry was that black women would vote for Hillary over Obama because she was a woman.  Auntie was simply reminding her politically wayward niece that color trumps gender.    I will not get into the narcotic Kool Aid dependencies of Obamabots in this post, but I knew auntie was inhaling and sending her last dollar to the Obama campaign. Her will to see beyond race was compromised by her commitment to righting the political wrongs of slavery and bondage.  In essence , African Americans were becoming everything they used to hate.

What a sad delusion.

What an abysmal state of mind to be stuck in.

The Democratic party- the party of equal rights, tolerance, diversity and most of all liberalism, is on auto-destruct mode.  Such a reversal of misfortunates.  You were once racist against me so that give me the right to be intolerant and racist against you–FOREVER.

Within the analogy of annoyances between conservatives and liberals,  everything depends on what I can and cannot morally stomach.  I hate hypocrisy.  At least the religious/holier than thou trope has always been a staple amongst conservatives. Republicans are pretty consistent about being anti-choice, anti- government and self-knowingly quite hypocritical about it.    Along with the heavy moral quotient, regardless of any fallacies committed along the way, the elephant is usually not delighting in the enslavement of identity politics. The elephant does not suffer from amnesia when it comes to the Civil Rights Era.  The elephant is not involved in some KoolAid/cult of personality  addiction narrative that seems to follow their most successful leaders (Kennedy/Obama).   The elephant in my view is not dispensing hopium to its patients and quickly escaping on a jet to play a hundred rounds of golf in Hawaii.

Is all hunky dory on the right side of the tracks?

No, of course not.  I would be lying if I said it was.   I battle everyday to get conservatives to understand why some of us Americans want to be called African Americans.  If I want a hyphen, then damn-it I can have one.  When I expatriated from the Democratic Party, I did not stop being African American.  If the GOP wants more people of color , they will have to market the brand in a way that does not compromise the values of conservatives; while at the same time showing us that it is okay to be proud of one’s ethnicity.  No watermelon cart is needed.  You don’t need a reparations bill to get African Americans to join the conservative party. Just be yourselves and show them what you stand for and how it can benefit them.

Someone may listen.

I did.

Well, back to the shelter…I may crawl out in a few days when I run out of Beanie Weenies and Gatorade.  Visit if you choose but be warned… I do not allow Kool Aid or Barney Franks.

Autographed Letter Signed

AFROCITY

PS:  Today is my mother’s birthday she would have been 71. It also means my birthday is in 6 days. We always spent the week together as a tradition. It will be lonely in the shelter this week.

 

13 Responses to “Live From The Obama Fallout Shelter”

  1. yttik Says:

    I want to come join you in the secret underground bunker, Afrocity! We can celebrate our birthdays together.

    Keep the faith. Believe it or not, we are the majority, the middle, those of us who don’t quite fit the ideology of either party. Independents far out number extremists from either end. And many of us who are registered either Dem or Republican, have done so not out of party loyalty, but for practical purposes like being able to caucus or vote in a primary.

    Kind of interesting, our local Republican party saw such an influx of women refugees who fled in terror from the Dem party after the primaries, that they altered their platform. They used to be strongly pro-life, but because of the shift in voting membership, they’ve had to change the language. They now believe in supporting women and children before and after birth and support women’s choices in prevention and alternatives to abortion. It is not exactly a pro-choice message, but it is a huge shift from what they used to advocate.

  2. me Says:

    Ive been hiding out since the election was won by Obama.

    There is NO ONE in my personal life who shares my political views. So I rant and suffer in silence. I check the blogs every now and then so I know the big issues but I dont read as much as I used to.

    I am so tired of the knee jerk right wing=racist in my black people. One of the twins from “sisters sister” is engaged to adam housely from fox news and a black gossip blogs commenters were going on about how the guy must be a racist republican and questioning why she is with him. The obsession with race is mentally draining. (im ranting and its late i hope you got that)

    No need for un needed stress stay in your fall out shelter and do things you enjoy. Im getting ready for back to school season and I will simply change the subject if someone wants to talk politics or the issues of the day.

    • afrocity Says:

      Is the twin from Sister Sister engaged to a Caucasian? Just curious. Who is Adam Housely?

      Lately, I have been speaking up more to liberals. Not sure why, maybe just picking a fight. Their logic annoys me because there isn’t any. Obama is a lousy president. Admit it.

  3. me Says:

    Yes hes white I remember seeing him doing on the scene type reporting. I havent watched fox lately but im sure hes on there still. Google him I think you should get a pic of them together. I think shes of mixed race like Obama but who cares. I was wondering to myslef why it matters to those ladies. But it is a gossip website so its to be expected.

    Oh Dee leave the lady alone. Shes entittled to moderate her views. I think she has made many posts detailing her “conversion” Shes no yes man republican. I dont label myself. I’m a conservative/libertarian/right of center/republican leaning… I evaluate an issue as it comes.

  4. LJSNAustin Says:

    This is a great post, AC. You hit the nail on the head about both parties having serious problems and extremism that disaffects boatloads of people. So I guess this means you won’t be carrying a rainbow flag at our anti-gay-marriage protest? 😉 jk

    Thinking of you on this birthday week and also the one-year reminder of your last visit to TX!

    • afrocity Says:

      Yes and this year that meeting is in Washington, DC and it is coming in about a week or so.

  5. Holly Says:

    Glad to see you are okay.

    Have a very Happy Birthday.

  6. gs Says:

    Happy birthday, Af.


Comments are closed.