Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Happy Birthday Autographed Letter Signed April 8, 2010

Cakes By One of my favorite artists, Wayne Thiebaud

A sense of accomplishment is in the air. Today is the first anniversary of ALS. Wow an entire year. What brought me, lil ol’ Afrocity to create this blog in the first place? In short, after not quite fitting in at The Confluence and not quite fitting in at Little Green Footballs (which turned out to be a liberal blog disguised as a center right blog or some strange experiment in blogger as evil puppet master), I decided to get my own diggs.

"Lemon cake" by Wayne Thiebaud

Shedding a political spouse, in my case the Democratic Party, required some solitude and space to explore my values. What do I really want for my country? What causes are worth fighting for? I had to ask myself these things because for so long I played in the liberal sandbox watching my pals kick down castles of military defense, christian values, parental rights and all sorts of things that really mattered to me. Externally, I muttered yeah “fuck the military!”,  “burn that flag” , “sure the government owes blacks” but internally, especially as I aged, I winced at mostly everything liberals stood for with the exception of women’s rights.   Compassion and equal opportunity for all is something I can agree with.  I had it in me to be a good liberal, however I also had it in me to be a better conservative.

There is a difference between being a compassionate person and an enabler.  Liberals have a tendency to dramatize the human condition,  particularly that of minorities and any one they see as down-trodden.   When you just spend, spend, spend money- tax dollars- on “compassionate programs” , you have to take a step back in order to see if those programs are really helping anyone or are they enabling a persistent problem to turn into a generational saga.   Let’s take welfare programs for example and you know how I feel about those.

"Watermelon Slices" by Wayne Thiebaud

One of the reasons I am against government assistance is because I grew up on it.  And yes, it fed me, kept me adequately healthy, but did it advance me or my mother?  No.  Did it pay for my prom dress?  No.  Prom was a big deal to a 17 year old girl.  How would the $250 government check pay for my prom gown, my hair appointment,  my #352 pink dyed shoes to match my dress and my jewelry?   The answer was, it would not.  Mother went looking for dresses at the Salvation Army store, meanwhile Afrocity began looking for a job.   This image of one of us actually working was a bit much for my mother to handle,  “you know they will cut us off, ” she warned.

"Rosebud Cakes" by Wayne Thiebaud

I did not care, I had a date with a Victor Costa gown at Nieman Marcus.   School by day, working until 1am as a hostess at a Mexican restaurant was tough.  In retrospect, it was dangerous to take the bus home so late at night.  My school work was neglected B’s morphed into C’s.  One night I was so tired, I fell asleep with the curling iron still rolled in my hair.  When you are young, you can put up with a lot and my first paycheck made all of the trouble worth it.  My first paycheck- that I earned for my work. Money not for nothing but for something I did besides being black and poor.  I came to a particular understanding that my mother had yet to achieve.  Welfare may let you survive but it doesn’t let you live.   Maybe I got the job out of necessity.  I had a need that a welfare check could not fulfill.  I had a dream about a dress but what about my life beyond the dress?  What happens when welfare will not pay for your dreams?

Republican candidates would appear on television, right away before they could speak several words, my mother would shout, “They are only for the rich people, they want to cut welfare and programs in order to hurt blacks.”    Funny how our lives did not improve much under Jimmy Carter.  Funny how mother’s life did not improve much under Bill Clinton, until she was forced to get a job because the conservative state of Texas would not let her draw a government check just for being her wonderful self.

Shakes by Wayne Thiebaud

In working, she began to buy nice things, take me to lunch, actually act and behave as mother.  When she lost the job, she lost her sense of self again.  Being 65, by that time, the government was there waiting for her to pick up the pieces.  Back she went to waiting for their check.  When she died, she had not more than $345 in her bank account.  I reported her deceased and the government took back $325 and left her with $20.  Why was I angry?  True, it was Uncle Sam’s money to give to her and she was dead.  However, could he not at least left her with some dignity and money to be buried with? He left her with what she came to him with…Nothing.  Nothing at all but her life and the clothes on her back.

The reason I created this blog was to chronicle the thoughts and feelings of a reformed liberal.  To some degree I am still evolving.  One of the problems some of my critics have with me is my ability to be so compassionate and pathetic, yet turn into a brutal critic of the Obama administration.  A lot of people, especially those of color call me a self-loathing Auntie Tom who has sold out.  They think I am really a liberal and delusional on some level about my move towards conservatism.   I have struggled this year with the enormity of my exodus from Donkeyville.   People especially, PUMA’s have posted and gone.  Once friends are now distant acquaintances in the political blogosphere.

"8 Lipsticks" by Wayne Thiebaud

Am I happier now having left the Democrats? Oh definitely yes.  That party is unrecognizable to me.  This country and the direction it is moving in is unrecognizable to me.

Am I a well rounded conservative? Oh definitely, no.  I remain pro-choice.  There are many things to admire about the pro-life movement but a woman’s choice is a woman’s choice and she should always have the freedom to make that choice.

As this blog continues, I am always hoping to attract people who are willing to hear and understand both sides of an issue.

Before you can help people, you have to first listen to them.  This simple  practice  is something that is severely lacking in the Obama administration and among many compassionate liberals.

Give people what they need, not what you think they need.  Give people the ability to help themselves, not a lifetime sentence to be helped by you.  You cannot wave a magic wand and expect to end world hunger, wars, pain, sickness, global warming and paper cuts using other people’s money.  Your reward will be debt, depression and a lowered moral among those who actually do contribute to society.

You cannot have your cake and eat it too.

Autographed Letter Signed on this our 1 year anniversary,

AFROCITY

 

31 Responses to “Happy Birthday Autographed Letter Signed”

  1. Leah Says:

    Thank you, that was beautiful.

  2. yttik Says:

    Happy birthday, Afrocity! Your words are like a big birthday present I just can’t wait to unwrap. Whatever led you to this blog, I am grateful for the opportunity to hear your voice. It’s wonderful.

    I am a compassionate liberal or rather I was. I believe in helping people, I went into social services, I was determined to make a career out of it. But what I learned in the process was that many of these so called liberal ideas are not about lifting people up, they’re about keeping them down. You know how it works, take a second job and they cut your food stamps, try to start a daycare home and they kick you out of your subsidized housing. Get a raise, you lose your medicaid. After a while you have to design your life and your income around preserving your housing, your groceries, etc. We’ll give you an 8 dollar increase in food stamps, but we sure as heck won’t wave the 500 dollar fee for a venders license so you can run your own business. What this eventually does to people’s spirits is obvious. Along with the poverty comes the poverty of spirit, being forced to put your dreams on hold, the cynicism, the bitterness, the resignation that this is as good as it’s going to get.

    • afrocity Says:

      Yttik,

      That is so true. They penalize you for actually trying to be productive. Cut you off. You either take all of their help or nothing at all.

  3. Lauderdale Conservative Says:

    Happy Birthday!

    I really enjoy reading your blog, and wish you nothing but the very best.

  4. jbjd Says:

    Happy Birthday, Afrocity. I started my blog during the DNC Convention, because I had so much to say; and I was tired of repeating myself throughout the blogosphere. Yesterday was my biggest day ever! JUDGE ABBOTT WOULD ORDER TDP CHAIR BOYD RICHIE TO DECLARE PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE BARACK OBAMA IS INELIGIBLE FOR THE JOB

    P.S. The expression is, ‘You can’t eat your cake and (still) have it, too (because once you eat it, it’s gone).’ http://ask.yahoo.com/20060511.html

    • afrocity Says:

      Thank you jbjd. One’s own blog is a good thing to have.

      As far as the expression on cake, the way i wrote it is the way my mother and grandmother said it to me. You can’t eat it or have it too. 😉

  5. Truth Seeker Says:

    Happy Birthday, ALS, and may you have many many more.

  6. Patti Says:

    Happy Birthday! For the occasion, I had to come out of the lurking closet to tell you I really enjoy your writing. You are unique.

    As a baker, I never understood that saying, “you can’t have your cake and eat it too”. Thanks, jbjd, for explaining it. My solution is to bake another cake. Ha!

  7. sofa Says:

    Happy birthday, Afrocity!

  8. IslandLibertarian Says:

    Ho’omaika’i. Hau`oli Lā Hānau.
    Aloha ke Akua

  9. LuAnn Says:

    I am always delighted when I find a new post from you. The only other blog I follow is John Stossel. I’m a mixture of conservative, libertarian and Christian.

    I feel fortunate to have found you so soon into your journey. Happy first anniversary – may we celebrate many more together.

    Happy Easter, too!

  10. manbearpig68 Says:

    Happy first year birthday to the most insightful well-written blog out there!!!!

  11. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings on this blog. You always have something interesting and thought provoking to say.

  12. Rose Says:

    Happy BIRTHDAY to you!
    Happy BIRTHDAY to you!
    Happy BIRTHDAY to Dear AC!
    Happy BIRTHDAY to you!

    And many more!

  13. Congrats!

    Keep up the great work.

  14. Kei Says:

    Happy Birthday Afrocity!

    I don’t post much (school has me tied up) but I still stop and read you daily. May you have many, many more birthdays here!

  15. Holly Says:

    Wishing you continued success in your political evolution and in narrating that evolution…right here.

    Is there such a thing as a perfect Conservative?

    And as a pro-life individual, I can say that even though I disagree with you, you have a respectful and approachable demeanor, and there is always room for that in a very passionate cultural debate.

    God Bless.

    • afrocity Says:

      Holly, I have always respected your pro-life stance and what is so refreshing about you is that you debate in a civil manner. You exemplify what is missing on the left. In my political evolution, I have found far more conservatives who are willing to entertain opposing opinions than I have liberals. How many liberals have stuck with this blog? How many have left because I said something that they disagreed with? My true friends are still here and I thank you all for that.

      • jbjd Says:

        afrocity, back in the day, when Magic Johnson played for the LA Lakers and Larry Birth played for the Boston Celtics; my friends and I were glued to the t.v. during the playoffs. Notwithstanding we were die hard Celtic fans – Dennis Johnson, guard was my favorite (until I learned he had issues with domestic violence) – we watched as neutral observers able to appreciate a great game of ball.

        I can appreciate well-reasoned heartfelt commentary in the same way.

  16. garnette Says:

    Happy Birthday ALS!

    I always enjoy reading your blog. You have an interesting, truthful perspective that speaks from your life experience. I think that liberals can’t handle that your life destroys the reality they have created in their minds.

    In the last year or so I heard something that comes to mind about the liberals tying to solve problems. They don’t want to fix anything because once they do they won’t have anything to do. In other words, they have no reason to want to fix anything they claim are problems because they will be out of a job.

  17. […] happened to Afrocity is wonderful and you will feel blessed to meet her — go read the rest of the story and wish her every blessing […]

  18. Happy blog birthday, Afrocity! May you always be blessed with divine protection, divine guidance, progress, prosperity, wisdom, knowledge, love, excellent friends and mentors, a loving spouse and family, creativity, laughter, perfect health and every blessing always!

    I wrote a post quoting you and encouraging my readers to come here and read your post and blog and wish you blessings.

  19. LJSNAustin Says:

    Happy Anniversary, Afrocity! This is one PUMA who has NOT left you or your blog. 🙂 Here’s wishing you many more years of ALS!

  20. Anthony Says:

    Happy Birthday, Afrocity.

    I just found this blog thanks to a colleague and dear friend of mine, Kenny. I agree with so much of what you say. I teach at several community colleges trying to help young people achieve their dreams, find out who they are, and become better people in the process. I too see that often our young people are never really challenged to strive for something. So many of them cannot handle college because they are used to being handed everything in high school and never required to actually do much. Those students who make it to the second half of each semester, however, see things differently. They want to be successful and make a difference in the world – one for her daughters, another for his parents, another for his younger brother, still another to help others she has met. Many of my students (not all yet, but many) have come to appreciate how I challenge them to do their best and refuse to let them slide by. Liberal handouts – hogwash. More and more young people want to show the world that they can make it – through their own blood, sweat, and tears. And, when they do, they tell me it feels wonderful!

  21. Janelle Humbert Says:

    Keep on every morning doing what you do best…….feet on the floor and wisely committed.

  22. gs Says:

    I would read you if you blogged about stepladders. Thank you for sharing the world seen through your eyes.

  23. pat Says:

    Happy BD and many more. You are sweet and smart. So much better than smarmy and smug.

  24. liontooth Says:

    Happy Birthday ALS blog! You always post something interesting that makes me think. Keep up the great work Afrocity!

  25. Boots Says:

    Congratulations on your 1 year blog-avirsary! I always enjoy your posts, I didn’t realize you were so new at blogging. Your posts are always beautifully illustrated as well as containing so much to think about and ponder. Thank you!

  26. Happy Anni Afrocity… I’ve been following you since our days at the confluence and you were one the reasons I started my own blog. I haven’t posted in a while, but always a loyal reader.


Comments are closed.