Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Sleeping With The “DEM-EMIES”: I am a Moderate, Not A Fool November 3, 2009

1hilarious

This is what Happens to moderate Republicans when they listen to sweet talk from Democrats

By the summer of 2009, I had given up on trying to conceal my political orientation from liberal friends. Tired of the frustration when it comes to listening to Palin jokes, cracks about religious zealots, “tea baggers”, and racists, I outed myself.  Now life is much happier and I no longer have to listen to the liberal whining about evil Republicans and how they are racist against Obama and want all of the poor people to die.

Having said that, I will be damned if I am going to conceal my liberal views on abortion and gay marriage from my fellow conservatives.

No more hiding for Afrocity.

Take me as I am or not at all.

If you are pro-choice, support gay marriage yet believe in the right to bear arms and fiscal conservatism, you may be a moderate Republican.  For the purposes of this post, I will use the term  “Moderate Republican” as opposed to the more derogatory RINO (Republican In Name Only) because I believe that a RINO is someone who runs for office as a Republican, espouses to conservative values then once elected turns into a political jackass, both literally and  figuratively.  One cannot claim to be a fiscal conservative yet tax and spend our country into debt. Those are not fiscally conservative values.

29opedspan

Evolution of a RINO

For a moderates like me, the good news is that I have never had a problem from my party concerning my views on abortion or gay marriage. If you look at my blog roll, you will see that there are several links to Republicans who happen to be gay and or pro-choice. Liberals don’t want you to know that such animals exist but we do. Liberals want you to think that all Republicans hate gays, we are all against abortion. Not true.

Desperate to keep the negative stereotypes going, the Democrats will dribble on about how “out of touch” the Republicans are. The RINO’s will become pissed off that they cannot win elections and turn to to the Democrats for help, sometimes even endorsing them. From this article at Capital Confidential.com

Duprey on Scozzafava, women and moderates in the GOP

November 2, 2009

by Irene Jay Liu

Republican Assemblywoman and Clinton County GOP Chair Janet Duprey has a lot in common with Dede Scozzafava — they are both female, moderate Republicans who represent adjacent North Country Assembly districts.

Duprey was a strong supporter of Scozzafava’s congressional bid. From the outset, Duprey defended her Assembly colleague’s place on the Republican ticket. In an interview with the Press Republican, Duprey said:

“Our voting records are very similar, and I consider myself a good Republican,” Duprey said.

“She is fiscally conservative, and I think this is an example of the Republican Party being progressive and open to everybody.”

Duprey said Scozzafava has a proven record for supporting less government and less taxes, and helping small businesses.

“I think those views fall under the template of Republican,” Duprey said.

That was, of course, before Scozzafava suspended her campaign and endorsed the Democratic candidate, Bill Owen. Duprey issued a statement in her capacity as Clinton County GOP party chair, announcing that the committee decided to endorse the conservative candidate Doug Hoffman.

“Certainly its been a very surprising weekend. Dede made a very personal decision and I know that it was a very difficult decision for her,” said Duprey in an interview this afternoon.

Duprey did not criticize Scozzafava, who she called a “good friend,” as some of her other Republican colleagues have in the wake of the Owens endorsement. She declined to weigh in on whether Scozzafava should retain her post as Minority Whip Leader Pro Tempore in the Assembly Republican conference, saying: “I think there has to be an open discussion. I have a great deal of respect for (Assembly Republican Leader Brian Kolb)… Dede has done a great job as floor leader and yet I’m sure too, that Brian has to answer to a lot of voices.”

She did have a lot to say about the process that handed the GOP endorsement to Scozzafava and how the local race has been co-opted by national forces.

“Our process in the beginning I think was excellent. We held four public forums…they were each very well attended. We asked those committee to vote on who they would support…and Dede ended up being chosen  by the 11 county chairs,” Duprey said.

“Somewhere during this process, the whole local focus just got knocked out of the box. It’s been this media hype. It’s been all these celebrities, and national people, and PACS, and money — from everyone but the people who live in this congressional district —that have just taken over. I’m saying this about everybody – the Republican, Democratic, and Conservative Party candidate,” Duprey said.

“I think the system has been turned upside down,” she said. “My biggest hope for this election is that people who live in this district go to the polls in overwhelming numbers and vote, and show where they stand. To remind people that this is a local race about local issues.”

When asked what Scozzafava’s experience means for moderates in the Republican Party, Duprey said:

“Part of it is that I’m so close to it. It’s hard for me to give a solid analysis — it’s too raw. …I know how difficult this has been on Dede…. In my opinion, we made the right choice. She was an excellent candidate,” Duprey said.

She did, however, note that many Republicans, including former Gov. George Pataki, came out in support of Hoffman instead of Scozzafava.

“I give Newt Gingrich a lot of credit… for supporting her early and saying that the Republican Party needs to support moderate Republicans.”

“I can’t tell you why these other people did not rally around her. I truly hope that as we look back, we don’t find that the Republican Party doesn’t have a place for moderate Republicans. That will be too bad, for too many people,” she said.

And as for the role that gender may have played in Scozzafava’s experience, Duprey said:

“I hope not. And I guess that’s not a real answer. I remember those days when it was an issue. I started my career in politics in 1975…I went through that. I was the first woman to run in Clinton County. My children were very small at the time…I had some terrible experiences with some people who felt that a woman should not enter politics; a woman should not run,” Duprey said.

“I hope that we’ve moved beyond that point. But, I have to tell you, watching this go on, I’ve had some deja vu back to 1975. I don’t want to dwell on that and hope that the Republican Party has moved beyond that,” she said.

“It has been very difficult to watch,” Duprey said. “You have to ask some of these men, why weren’t they there with our Republican candidate when she could have really used our help?

Mod_Repub_Lion
I am not familiar with Scozzafava but it seems to me in the final analysis her constituents did not want to elect her because she was claiming to be something she was not. Now she has endorsed a Democrat, which equates to suicide in the eyes of Republicans. Dede, do yourself a favor and switch parties.  Of course Sarah Palin would not endorse Scozzafava. Sarah is a conservative and would never endorse a sub-RINO. Why Newt Gingrinch endorsed Scozzafava, I will never know but it makes me think a lot less of him. Michael Steele I am not so surprised about because he is a moderate, however despite being a moderate myself, I would never endorse a Republican candidate that supported the stimulus package or Obamacare.

I may be a moderate but I am not a fool. Which means yes, in 2012 if Mitt Romney is the GOP nominee for POTUS I will vote for him. It is important that we stick together. I want those in power now to get OUT. I stopped voting with my ovaries last year and will never do so again. Country first.

Speaking of fools and Obamacare, here is the latest video parody from the conservatives entitled” Obamascare”

Autographed Letter Signed,

AFROCITY

 

31 Responses to “Sleeping With The “DEM-EMIES”: I am a Moderate, Not A Fool”

  1. Holly Says:

    I know how we define “Moderate” when it comes to politicians…it’s called coward. Your evolution analysis cracked me up; I laughed out loud at work.

    I don’t know if there is such a thing as a moderate. I have been reading you for about 8 months and it seems that you are Conservative on all but two principles: gay marriage and abortion. These two issues would not make you moderate in my book, but rather a Conservative with an Independent or Libertarian streak. I still disagree with you on those issues, but that’s okay. I think it is proof, as you said, that the Conservative voice is much larger than Liberals want anyone to believe.

  2. joanelle Says:

    So Afrocity is a moderate Republican the same as a moderate Democrat – oh, wait a minute, I forgot, the Democrat party died last summer. Neverrrr mind!

  3. HT Says:

    Isn’t it a shame that human rights – equality for all – is now a definition for who is or is not a member of either party. With the deficit, the wars, the economy, why is the emphasis on what people do with their own body, or what they do in the privacy of their home?
    RINO, DINO – how many more terms will be coined for a person who does not follow the party line? And what party line are they supposed to follow? Is there a sacrosanct party line? As Obama and Palin, their supporters and detractors have indicated, there is a multiplicity of opinions on how each party should behave. Interesting and troubling times we live in.

    • Holly Says:

      I agree, but I still feel that social issues must be debated because it is the only format to gain knowledge, which can then lead to understanding and respect, even for differing opinions. I do agree that there are bigger issues to deal with which is exactly why I am furious that Hate Crimes legislation was manuevered into our military spending bill. If we want to have a real debate, lets have it, not hide from it and somehow gain credibility with a particular constituency.

      As to the RINO and DINO comment, I understand. In defense to my agitation of true RINO leaders, like, Lindsay Graham, he is a pompous ass because he votes for political expediency rather than principle. If he is the future of the Republican party, I want out. I do not respect a person who claims to represent a certain set of principles and then when elected, demeans his constituents with those same principles: “If you don’t like the way I run things, vote.” The way he runs things…this is not a leader, this is not a public servant, and this I will not respect. A RINO, in my mind, is someone who turns on their beliefs and principles for short-term political gain at the expense of the people.

      Those with Conservative beliefs will disagree and that is healthy because we are a diverse people with diverse opinions. I think we follow a basic set of principles and from there a robust debate on more specific issues begins.

  4. afrocity Says:

    If you are unsure of your political affiliation please take the test at political compass.org

    http://www.politicalcompass.org/test

    • HT Says:

      Tired it. I’m in the same quadrant, and roughly the same grid as the Dalai Lama, Gandhi and Nelson Mandela. Where were you?

      • afrocity Says:

        It said I was center right. so center and about 5 squares to the right. I was zero libertarian.

      • afrocity Says:

        Was in same quadrant as Thatcher.

      • BaldManMoody Says:

        I was 3 squares to the right and two squares to the bottom – that sounds about right to me. I generally would like to believe that business should remain unfettered but I find enough companies doing wrong/dislike the current system of lobbyists in the pocket of big business/other moneyed interests that I can’t argue for complete freedom. As a consultant in the financial sphere, I can attest to some overall pitiful behavior when earnings calls are coming.

        I generally think the Federal government should stay out of moral issues for the most part and leave those to the states. Gay marriage – I am for it being recognized federally in taxes, would prefer that it remain a state matter, although I would prefer that we cut the BS and separate the churches/other institutions from being able to perform civil ceremonies – for all of the social conservatives that get caught up on the use of marriage as the term, let’s call everyone who gets “married” civilly a part of the civil union – you only do it civilly because you want certain tax benefits and punitive legal abilities in event of divorce/contract law. Abortion – I believe left to states, people can move freely, I am personally for it in cases of rape/danger to mother’s life – I can’t really get behind it in situations of overall irresponsibility but if someone could prove that all precautions were followed and they still ended up pregnant – well then maybe I can understand then. I personally think individual actions do have consequences – although nature unfortunately slanted those consequences (a child – which is truly an awesome experience when raised in a loving household) against the woman in the case of abortion. It is an issue that ultimately I, as a male, can only speak to and will never have life experience to support other than watching my wife go through pregnancy and loving our newborn baby more than life itself.

      • BaldManMoody Says:

        Ha. Agreed Letters! I looked at a number of those and was like, yeah, can’t really give a conclusive answer here.

    • I don’t think all the test questions were very good. Such as:

      “If economic globalisation is inevitable, it should primarily serve humanity rather than the interests of trans-national corporations.”

      I can’t pick neither. Can’t it serve both? Should it serve either? In my opinion it should be about giving both the freedom to do what they need to do and no hinder either while making sure neither can wrong the other. But in this case should I say I disagree since I’m for Capitalism and every time people talk about serving humanity it ends up being at the expense of others (such as wealth redistribution)?

      “The enemy of my enemy is my friend”

      Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

      “People are ultimately divided more by class than by nationality.”

      I think it’s both the same. I think it can have more to do with culture much of the time.

      “Governments should penalise businesses that mislead the public.”

      How is this a left-right argument, isn’t fraud, fraud?

      “All authority should be questioned”

      Also I don’t think this is a left-right question, if you say yes it will put you on the left if you say no it puts you on the right. But if you are a communist you don’t question authority.

      “Schools should not make classroom attendance compulsory”

      Not a left-right question and would also require a dissertation to answer on any side.

      “It’s natural for children to keep some secrets from their parents”

      Not Political. It’s a pointless question.

      “When you are troubled, it’s better not to think about it, but to keep busy with more cheerful things”

      Not Political. It’s a pointless question.

      “What’s good for the most successful corporations is always, ultimately, good for all of us.”

      Can be both yes and no.

      “Mothers may have careers, but their first duty is to be homemakers.”

      First duty is to be a mother, as it is the first duty of the father to be a father, but if I check no as in it is not a mother’s first duty to be a homemaker it is assuming I am talking about sexism rather than something else.

      I really think I would have to pick “None Of The Above” for many of the questions. I just ended up finishing this over at my blog since I didn’t want to fill your entire comments section (even if I know I have done it before).

      And now with the shameless plug:

      http://letterstoadyingdream.wordpress.com/2009/11/04/internet-tests-politics-idiocy-and-a-good-beer/

      On other things I do kind of agree with Holly on the “moderate” thing, unless we are talking about a “moderate” between a Republican and a Libertarian, but even that doesn’t work very well. More like a different parts of the modern conservative movement, such as Traditional Liberal, Republicans, Libertarians and such. Even if I said I was a Traditional Liberal I would still have to explain myself for an hour. You can say the test is better than nothing but that is not saying much.

  5. HT Says:

    Oops, I meant “tried” it. Fingers not working

  6. aussie Says:

    It is strange that Americans insist that they have a 2 party system when clearly people fall into so many different camps.

    First of all, Scuzzy Dede is not a moderate by any stretch of the imagination. In fact the definition of “moderate Republican” is one that is being defined by the Dhimmicrats and the Lamestream media, and not by Republicans. (at least that is what I am reading and understanding. This is very unhelpful because the Dhimmicrats are claiming that people with extreme liberal views are moderates. This is clearly not the case.

    Second, since the Dhimmicrats have been controlling the definition you need to see what they are saying about the true conservatives and how the majority of Republicans do not fit into their definition, but in fact are the real moderates. For example they are calling Hoffman and the T.E.A. party people extremists.

    Now from an outside point of view, I look at these definitions and just shake my head. In my country I am a moderate as far as politics are concerned. I have always voted for the Liberal Party (this is not the same as liberals) because of the Conservative values that are espoused. The real extremists are in fact that who espouse both Marxism and liberalism. Even though I am pro-life and anti-abortion, I am wise enough to see that there are situations where there just might have to be an “abortion”. To me these are very rare situations such as when a child of 10 is raped and becomes pregnant and to continue with the pregnancy would cause her a lot of internal damage at her tender age when her body is still growing. What I do have to keep in mind though, is that young girls were giving birth in ancient times, and that we can handle pregnancy and giving birth, despite what most of the pro-choice pundits claim. I do not agree with the “this is my body” statement since there is another human being involved.

    I think that most middle of the road people, whether they are Democrats or Republicans are the real moderates, not the RINO, the DIABLO or the DINO who are the new carpetbaggers using the political party system to further their own ends.

    One other thing, in my country we have had a few people who have entered politics via a minor party such as the Greens, or the Australian Democrats, but have then switched sides, usually to the ALP (Australian Labour Party – the equivalent of the Dhimmicrats). These people are usually the more despicable low life types who see politics as being involvement at any price…..

  7. yttik Says:

    LOL, I’m so glad you’ve got this political stuff figured out, Afrocrity. I had it all together too once, but I forgot where I put it.

    I think I’ve got a libertarian streak because I believe the Gov should butt out of people’s lives and leave them be. If gays want to get married, let them get married.

    By the same token the Gov has no business trying to ban abortion. The only thing about abortion that disturbs me is they way it is presented as the end-all of women’s rights. No far from it, women’s bodies should be respected so much that no one is ever subjected to an unwanted pregnancy. If women were truly respected, no one would ever need an abortion.

    But I am conservative in the sense of small government, lower taxes, fiscal responsibility, get your foot off people’s necks and let them be.

  8. HT Says:

    #
    afrocity Says:
    November 3, 2009 at 7:42 PM

    It said I was center right. so center and about 5 squares to the right. I was zero libertarian.
    #
    afrocity Says:
    November 3, 2009 at 7:44 PM

    Was in same quadrant as Thatcher.

    Well, we are sort of in the same world. It doesn’t matter. It takes all kinds to make a world, and really, if I had to choose my opposites, I’d be proud to have you as number one. Just remember m’dear, you are still young and are making your way through an incredibly daunting (especially for a female) world. As we grow older, beliefs and attitudes change, dependent upon life experiences. I won’t bore you with details of my rather dismal existence, but trust me, as bad as what you experienced with your mom, is more than met by what I experienced with mine – but like you, I loved her more than I can express. All this to say, people are mutable. They change. That is why they are so delightful, cause you never know what is coming. While you may be in the same quadrant and close on the grid to Maggie, you are nowhere near the Iron Lady. You have compassion and empathy. She did not.
    Never lose that. It is what separates the radicals – both left and right – from the regular people.

    • afrocity Says:

      HT,

      Thank you for your kind words. At some point, I wish you would consider posting a blog entry…if not here – at the Confluence and be sure to let me know.

      I was always conservative, I just never admitted it. Friends told me since college but I did not want to believe that a black girl like me would sell out the Democrats. Now I am free and I am really happy with my new political discoveries.

      • HT Says:

        M’dear, most people are conservative about some things. For example, I am a conservative where it involves taxes and how they are utilized.
        IMHO, we have lost touch with ourselves in trying to define ourselves as one or the other or the alternative. The media has defined how we think about our leanings, and political parties have exacerbated that. Now we have bloggers further exacerbating the wound, and everyone wonders why there is such division in the populace.
        Humans are mutable. They are like trees, and I’m thankful for that, for a healthy tree never breaks. It bends with the wind. We are not meant to be all knowing/all seeing. We are meant to work our way through life and try to make things better for those who surround us and who follow – at least in my way of thinking. I refuse to be identified by a political party. I am a fiscal conservative and a social liberal, in the true definition of those words. This ongoing war to divide the world into one or the other can only result in chaos. Just my humble opinion of course.

        You are black. I am white. We both have rather terrible experiences in our life. You are obviously quite intelligent. I am not so obviously likewise. You have felt compelled to fit in somewhere at points in your life – me too.
        I was molested at age 5, molested at age 14, raped at 19. I’m sure you have similar points of discovery. You have dark skin, I have really light skin (it’s pathetic). Under that skin, we have the same blood vessels, the same musculature, the same everything. Your are just starting on your journey. I’m nearing the end of mine. Until that happens, I hope you don’t mind, but I will visit often.

  9. HT Says:

    P.S. I won’t comment often. I get boring as witnessed in my last comment. Just know I’m here, okay.

    • afrocity Says:

      I am going to have to work with you on that self-deprecating habit you have. 😉 You are a diamond in the ruff .

  10. Afrocity, as you know, I am a pro-choice and pro-SSM fiscal conservative, but I completely reject the label “moderate.” Part of it is comes from my distaste for having to always further categorize and qualify everything we think and feel, but it’s also because I believe there are strong conservative arguments for legal abortion and gay marriage.

    I also choose not to describe myself as socially liberal. When we call pro-choice/pro-SSM stances “liberal views,” we’re letting liberals own those positions. That leaks into media characterizations and significantly impacts the way the debate is framed.

    But I agree with you, I haven’t felt ostracized or marginalized by conservatives just because my social positions deviate from the conservative mainstream.

    • afrocity Says:

      Jenn, I do not know what else to call myself. On “Booker Rising” blog, he labels me as a moderate Republican …so it stuck.

      • Call yourself whatever feels right! 🙂

        My thoughts on this have definitely changed over time as I’ve worked out for myself what it means to have right-leaning politics. I used to call myself a moderate Republican until I realized part of why I was doing it was to somehow make my conservatism more palatable to the liberals in my life. It feels unnecessarily divisive to say, a la Meghan McCain, “Oh, but don’t worry, I’m not one of those Republicans. I’m the reasonable, temperate kind!”

        And to me, “moderate” often implies a certain weakness or willingness to compromise one’s beliefs, a trait I definitely don’t associate with either of us.

  11. Irlandese Says:

    Again, here we go trying to find where we all “fit in”. I’m tired of trying to “fit in”. AfroCity, I’m on the same page you are, which is why you are one of the few PUMA blogs I still follow. Let’s all just throw away our labels and declare ourselves “Independent”, or “unaffiliated”. Less subjective, more objective. I’ve been a long time crosser-of-party-lines, and will continue to be. This voting for candidates based on how they “feel” about issues versus how they have legislated/voted on issues is how TOTUS attained the White House. Let it end. We have all become a circular firing squad arguing amongst ourselves while our leaders are busy emptying our bank accounts.

  12. bob Says:

    If you’re in a circular firing squad, fire first, fire fast, and fire again and again. 🙂

  13. bob Says:

    Seen in a western cemetary:

    Here lieth Johnny D. Rigger
    He was fast on the draw
    But slow on the trigger

  14. Clifton B Says:

    Afrocity, you definition of RINO is spot on. I am a strong conservative and the thing that pisses me off with RINOs is that they seem to have no principles what so ever.

    Case in point, Lindsey Graham. He calls himself a conservative, yet supports cap and trade. Where in the heck is there anything conservative about cap and trade?

    Pro Choice, pro gay or anti religion conservatives are fine by me, so long as you live by what you say.

    I do have to part ways on Mitt. I think he is exactly the type of RINO you described. He will make whatever adjustments to his conservatism the moment calls for.

  15. *chuckles* I myself didn’t think much of the questions, but..?

    Five right, and two down. Go figure!

  16. Patriotdems Says:

    If african-american rights had been left to the states that would have had negative consequences.

    Since LGBT rights are left to the states there is a patchwork of differing laws and there can be an attack on each state’s system by nationally based ideologues. Maine and California were cases in point.

    • BaldManMoody Says:

      But it would have followed the Constitution – see 10th Amendment. Not trying to be a prick – just looking at it from Constitutional perspective.


Comments are closed.