Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Ghosts Of Hope n’ Change Past: Haunted Houses October 31, 2009

halloween_catDamn it feels good to be a renter. I may not have equity but every month I write one check that takes care of my rent, cable and electric bill. No assessments, no real estate taxes.

Halloween Eve I was all comfy, sitting by my light switch ready fireplace, bowl of microwave popcorn and dalmatian puppy in hand. The darkness of Lake Michigan could be seen from the window of my hi-rise apartment.  The original Amityville Horror was on television. Poor things, sinking all of that money into a house only to find that it harbors an invisible pig named Jodi and leaks blood just when you were planning the house warming to end all house warmings.

A homeowner is something I have never been. Afrocity moves around too much. When I have thought of it, watching the headaches that my condo owning friends had to endure was enough to scare me into being a lifetime renter.

Let’s just consider my failure to own as a Peter Pan/Wendy complex of sorts.  I can’t commit to a piece of property no matter how beautiful she is.

Perhaps my complex is a result of the trauma that follows homelessness. If I don’t own one I can’t lose it.

From this article in the Chicago Sun-Times:

halloween-moon

Chicagoans taxes up 9 percent, Obama’s taxes up 1 percent

Obama’s bill barely edges up — but he still pays more than $22,000

October 30, 2009

BY Tim Novak

Many Chicago homeowners will see their property taxes rise sharply in the tax bills going out this week. But not President Obama. His taxes on his Kenwood mansion are up just 1 percent, records show.

Obama owes $22,456.43 in real estate taxes this year on his Kenwood mansion — $223.09 more than he paid last year, when he was running for president.

The median tax bill for city homeowners is up 9.6 percent.

That’s largely because the 7 percent exemption given to homeowners is being phased out.

But the president didn’t take that exemption during the last two years. So he’s not experiencing the pain of losing it, like most other Chicago homeowners.

Obama does pay more in property taxes than most politicians in Chicago and Cook County do, the Chicago Sun-Times found by examining online copies of the tax bills that Cook County Treasurer Maria Pappas mailed out this week. But Obama’s seeing one of the smallest increases among Cook County politicians.

witcheshalloween

Sounds like the Obamas are on the treat side of the Chicago real estate tax trick.  I am posting a comments found at the article by a Chicagoans that obviously represents the “trick” side of things:

My property taxes went up 63%!!!! An extra $2600 a year!!!!”
Of course, you are not part of the elite……You are receiving…..”change.”

“Obama and all other politicians whose only answer is to raise fees and taxes should automatically pay the max. This is the same president who wants to fund health care off the backs of those who make the most money. They should follow their own logic and have to pay the most when they claim that they need more.”

“…maybe if Pres O had bought it for full market value instead of the Tony Rezko bargain basement price he would be paying his fair share,,,, And ya gotta wonder how many haven’t paid …”

“I am not a happy camper. My taxes went up a little over 30% – an additional $700 for the second installment. My house is upside-down and I can’t get refinancing, yet someone thinks it’s okay that I pay more tax for a house that’s gone down in value. People already in dire straits are only going to go deeper in the hole. I have to think hard about whether or not it’s worth it for me to keep this house.”

103009tax.jpg_20091029_20_15_32_74#h=282&w=400

President Obama's Chicago Home. President Obama paid $1.65 million for the Kenwood mansion he and his family moved into in 2005. His real estate tax bill this year is $22,456.43 -- a 1 percent increase from last year. (Sun-Times file)


Maybe the treat part of “Change You Can Believe In” is coming a little later for those of you who were tricked into voting for the Great Pumpkinhead.

Little Devils

"Little Devils" cartoon by Stilton Jarlsberg at Hope N' Change Cartoons. http://hopenchangecartoons.blogspot.com/

Autographed Letter Signed,
AFROCITY

715.gif

 

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers