Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Thursday Stitch N’ Bitch: Government Health Care-Words Sew Heart To Believe September 10, 2009

Filed under: Healthcare,Uncategorized — afrocity @ 11:07 AM
Tags: ,
Knitted Art: " Vollig Weichgestrikt" by Sarah Illenberger

Knitted Art: " Vollig Weichgestrikt" by Sarah Illenberger

My breakfast this morning:

A glass of soy milk

Bottled spring water

1 hard boiled egg

1 multivitamin

1 Omega 3 fatty acid softgel

I have practiced this diet for two weeks now. My grandmother died of heart disease at age 77. My uncle died of heart disease at age 58.  My mother died of heart disease at age 68.

Afrocity will not die of heart disease. What do I have going for myself that they did not?

1. Coming to terms that heart disease is a problem in my family is the first step.

Unfortunately, the  rest of my family is still in denial. I began seeing a cardiologist in 2005. I was the youngest person in the office and the doctor sort of laughed at me but I would rather be embarrassed than dead. My grandmother’s first heat attack was at age 35. She would later have another attack 17 years later, right in front of me when I was 4 years old.

I was home alone with her watching Sesame Street and she fell to the floor, dragging herself into the kitchen for the phone. The rotary dial clunker was wall mounted. She could not reach it and neither could I. Feeling helpless, I tried to run for help but grandmother had put the chain latchkey lock on the door and I could not unlock it.

Overwhelmed with fear, I crawled into a corner where I could not see her. I thought she was dying and it was my fault. Hours later my mother awakened me, grandmother had been taken to a hospital and I had slept through the entire ordeal.

obama pills2. I will make a special effort to eat healthier. Cut down on red meat, add more soy products, water, omega.Typical African diets in my family consisted of meals that were high in saturated fats and sodium. By comparison my diet has always shunned the greens and corn bread feasts that my mother loved so much. Even as a child, she found me to be a picky eater- favoring vegetables over fruit and eating noticeably smaller portions than my relatives. My uncle would make a culinary concoction of fat back, greens and cabbage in a huge dutch oven. You could see the film of yellow coagulated grease floating on top of his artery clogging masterpiece.

3. They had government health care. I do not.

When ill, the very decision of whether or not to seek medical assistance was question of whether or not you were at death’s door. My family did not trust doctors to keep them alive. Medical practitioners were to be feared and avoided at all cost. In the end, they would all wind up too soon on an autopsy table. I cannot say that I blamed them. Welfare health care was a nightmare for me. I was poked and prodded without much explanation about what was happening to my body. I cannot remember the name or face of a single doctor I had back in those days. I can vaguely recall the sea foam green medical card my mother received each month that she would push underneath a glass window to a nurse along with her public assistance identification card. The doctors never smiled at me, one even told me to get the hell out of his office after I coughed in his face because the tongue depressor activated my gag reflex. Mother hastily walked out with me, penicillin prescription  in hand.

As a college undergrad, I too noticed that I hated doctors. My counselors and college roommate helped me overcome that fear. I did not want to die of a heart attack or cancer. Looking for Marcus Welby was futile in the world of government health care I would listen to my classmates speak of wonderful relationships with their “family” doctors. There was no such MD in my life until I finally secured a job with benefits.

Cross stitch uterus

Cross stitch uterus

Doctor: So you are here because you have a cold but is everything else going okay for you? You just moved here from Texas. Did you have a family practitioner there.

Afrocity: No

Doctor: When was your last pap exam?

Afrocity: (counting in head) Five years ago.

Doctor: (frowning) We can’t have that. Let’s schedule you for one.

stitchy pooAfrocity: (shakes head) I don’t like those metal things.

Doctor: I don’t use those, not many doctors do anymore. Have you’ve been tested for AIDS? HPV virus?

Afrocity:(shakes head)

Doctor: Have you ever had your cholesterol checked…ever? (smiling) I am guessing that is a qualified No?

Afrocity: (silent) I have problems with gas and heartburn, they told me to take TUMS but it never helps.I go from diarrhea to constipation.

Doctor: Well let’s lets have you fully checked out. I mean the whole nine yards, blood, urine, pap smear, a physical. You need a wellness consultation and it sounds like you have IBS. Do you do breast self-exams?

Afrocity: I bee-what? No I have not done a breast exam, I have seen the charts though.

breastxstitch

Doctor: Irritable Bowel Syndrome. It comes from stress, lots of women have it. You may also be lactose intolerant but we can’t know unless we test you my dear. Go to the desk and we can get you set up for all of these fun tests. You especially are overdue for a gynecological exam.

Cross Stitch Ovaries

Cross Stitch Ovaries

From that visit on, I began to trust doctor’s again. For anyone interested in finding out the truth in government health care, they should speak to people like me. Those who have actually experience it. Those in Canada and the UK who know what socialized medicine is and is not. So far, I have only heard about what is wrong with insurance companies and not what is right about government health care.

This is not about a partisan victory. This is about our health which is far more important than congressmen and Barack Obama kicking sand in each other’s faces at the playground.

Autographed Letter Signed,

Afrocity




 

20 Responses to “Thursday Stitch N’ Bitch: Government Health Care-Words Sew Heart To Believe”

  1. OMG. Is that a crocheted poop? Maybe if we all sent a bunch of those to our reps in Washington they would get the message that they need to listen to their constituents on the health care reform issue!

  2. Bellamags Says:

    The speech lost any sort of credibility when the republicans laughed at one of his talking points. He was shaken to the core. I don’t think I have ever seen him get flustered like that.

    IMO, what is needed is DRASTIC torte reform. Lets see what happens to costs. Then free markets. That’s all it would take. Insurance companies should be left alone. Charge more for unhealthy lifestyles just as you are charged more for auto insurance if you drive a Corvette rather than a Focus. Simple.

  3. I like this post. I reminded me of the story my mother told about when my elder brother was born prematurely. She had to be rushed to the hospital and they of course took her to the public hospital (since she was Black they assumed she must have been on assistance) where she was treated like dirt until they found out she was a paying customer with insurance, at which point her entire experience changed.

    Living as we did on the cusp between poor and middle class (what used to be called working class), I saw my fair share of the difference in how government services work versus private. Anything we had to deal with the government on meant dealing with inconvenient office hours, overcrowded and dirty waiting rooms, surly unhelpful and downright bossy employees, and a pervasive attitude of disdain and dismissal because they know you have no other options.

    No matter how frustrating private enterprise has been, there is always the option to change carriers, to go to another provider, to get better service somewhere else, to vote with your dollars. People who have never had to live under the tyranny of governmental absolutism will NEVER understand that.

  4. Modem X Says:

    Did you do the cross stitch anatomical works, afrocity? As a biologist and a needleworker, I have to say they’re splendid!

    I think government health care could work if it were done properly, like the plan Congress has, or the way it’s done in the military. I grew up in a military family and always had excellent care.

    Having said that, I don’t think Obama and Congress are capable of creating a good health care system, or a good health insurance system, because they are too beholden to the
    medical insurance and pharmaceutical industries.

    It’s my considered opinion that we should oppose any bill that’s presented or the insurance companies will get the gold mine and we’ll get the shaft.

    • afrocity Says:

      I can’t sew a button. Crafts websites have all sorts of patterns.

      I agree with you about the insurance companies and I oppose the bill. Many of the people creating the legislation have never depended upon the government for health care. How can you fix something or expand it when you have never experienced it?

  5. John morris Says:

    Could it be that the government’s school lunch program is hurting our kids?

    “Schools need to do even more to reduce the availability of high-calorie, low-nutrient foods and make school meals more nutritious,” she wrote. Foods available by choice to students — in vending machines, á la carte and the like — “should include only fruits, vegetables, whole grains and non-fat and low-fat dairy products,” she wrote.

    The editorial also suggested that the federal government withhold funding for meal programs from school systems that don’t comply with stepped-up nutrition expectations.

    Sam Kass, the chef who followed the Obamas to the White House, also has put the school lunch program under fire. According to a report in The New York Times in January, Cass attributes the nutritional shortcomings in school lunches, at least in part, to the use of donated surplus agricultural commodities that result from government subsidies.
    “As a result, he says, meals served to students are low in vegetables and disproportionately high in fat, additives, preservatives and high-fructose corn syrup,” the Times report said.

    The School Nutrition Dietary Assessment included information from 398 public schools in 130 districts across the United States, including 2,314 students in first through 12th grade during the 2004-05 school year.

    It found that more than 70% of the schools served meals that met the standards for critical nutrients such as protein, vitamins A and C, calcium and iron.

    But a mere 6 to 7% of subsidized meals met all nutritional standards, the study found. Most had too much saturated fat or fat overall, and not enough calories.

    About 42% of the schools surveyed offered no fresh fruits or raw vegetables in their lunch programs.

    Fat tended to come from salad dressings, condiments and spreads, pizza products, peanut butter sandwiches and french fries. Saturated fat tended to come from pizza products, condiments and spreads, 2% milk, salad plates or salad bars and hamburgers or cheeseburgers.

  6. Nancy Says:

    Great post! The crocheted pooh is most inspiring. I design jewelry. Perhaps I will incorporate the pooh idea in my designs! Ha!

    Confused by the moonbats who are proclaiming the speech a success. I heard nothing new- just more snark.

  7. boldandbald Says:

    The thing that is pissing me off now, as opposed to what was pissing me off yesterday or the day before, is this idea that they are trying to create ‘competition’. OK, let me get this straight. The federal government, who regulates the insurance companies, is now going to compete with them? Sounds like a serious conflict of interest to me. How does any company compete with the federal government when the government can always just increase taxes to cover losses, while refusing to allow the insurance companies to raise their rates in order to cover their losses. If they really want to create competition, then allow people to go outside of their own state to shop for insurance. After all, interstate commerce is something that the federal government actually has constitutional jurisdiction over, whereas they do not have constitutional jurisdiction over our personal health care choices. They could also allow Health Savings Accounts and insurance to cover catastrophic illness only. Let people make their own choices among a variety of market driven options. their attempt at so called competition will only drive the competition out of business.

    OK, rant off.

  8. bob Says:

    Alas, we need the lawyers to keep the doctors in form. A cap on judgements sounds like a good idea, but even that has problems. Cases being so different. An improperly set bone is one thing, if the doc amputates the wrong leg, that’s another.

    Some of the judgements seem way too high, for sure, but the whole thing needs to be thought through dispassionately.

  9. johninca Says:

    The best thing one can do for the heart is become a strict reader of food labels, at least for cholesterol. A “normal” cholesterol level is about 200 mg. I try to limit myself to about 190 mg a day. Eggs have about 225 mg.

  10. Carolinagirl Says:

    The question I would like to see answered is if you have government run health care with big brother deciding what care you can get, if any, who do you sue? The doctor’s defense will be that he did what he was allowed to do. So maybe obummers comment last night about considering changing the rules on litigation will be applicale only to government run care. Just a thought.

  11. IslandLibertarian Says:

    Govt. Health Care:

    “Listen to one speech, and call me in the morning. For English, press one. For Spanish, press two……….

  12. Peter Says:

    Funny, my cardiologist’s offices is always bullying me to eat more greens. So, I do, just not with fatback. As far as government health care, I got more of it than I wanted back during the Southeast Asian War Games. Stuck in bed after some major surgery the medics couldn’t be bothered to empty the uninals. Then the commissioned nurses would jump all over us for having overfull urinals. Don’t get me started on having to lay at attention for the doctors and nurses.
    It’s funny, now my doctors work with me, if they don’t I can go to another doc. And the government wants to change this. Meanwhile I want to change Congress and then the Executive Branch.

  13. yochanan ben avrohom Says:

    the poop was funny. and boy do i need a laugh.

  14. Maggie Says:

    You can add Australia to the list of universal health. At least it is not as bad as the U.K.

    I have been busy making the point about the out of pocket expenses because these continue to add up.

    The best thing for lowering cholesterol where it is a problem is to take fish oil capsules.

    Keep in mind that cholesterol is also associated with some of the feminine hormones. I noticed that as I approached and went through the change of life that my cholesterol levels became higher….


Comments are closed.