Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Afrocity Speaks: All in the Same Boat August 21, 2009

Etching of a slave ship

Drawing of a 1860 slave ship taken from a a daguerreotype and published in Harper's Weekly (June 1860)

Like many of you, I  have been brimming over with many thoughts on the current political situation during the last several months. With an upcoming speaking engagement at a Republican event, I felt the need to give a video background of my beginnings as a conservative and also to  speak out against the phony claims of racism we have witnessed since oh say 2008.

Mainly, my taped inner dialogue surrounds one central question:

Should my being African American and a woman enjoy a privileged position in my voting decisions?

Slave ship interior

Slave ship interior

The most extreme “Afrocity is a vile race traitor” claims notwithstanding, I would like my readers to know that the solution to this question is not as simple as one would think.

A close reading of this blog will tell you that it is not always full of anti-liberal sentiment.  Poignantly exploring my political past, present and future through the lens of a forgotten child, underscores my desire to present my case for conservatism, equality and women’s rights in a way that hopefully even liberals can relate to. But how does a conservative explain themselves to a liberal? As I learned after creating this video, you don’t. Its creation seemed to get the goat of several liberal viewers as if they believed I was attempting to manipulate and convert unsuspecting watchers into right wing nuts that attack Obamacare.

slave-ship-2While this blog and video is an assessment of  my own political situation as an African American female, there are arguments posited  here that collectively effects us as AMERICANS whether we are Democrats or Republicans.

Growing up, I had witnessed my share of participation in government “help” programs.  I would think that any criticisms offered by me, stemming from my experience living through these should be valid and understandable. An accusation recently entered against me was that I received a free ride through college due to my mother’s financial situation. Did I receive a government Pell grant to attend college yes, did it cover my entire tuition NO. What did I do? I worked two jobs.  In fact I have worked since it was legally allowable for me to do so.  For what my parental figure did not do, I made up for it two times over.

While liberals love to hear sweet nothings, security blanket feel good about themselves, phrases such as “helping the unfortunate and downtrodden” , they never seem to articulate the distinction between helping and enabling.  In the Republican camp, such distinctions are made clearer especially among my fellow African American conservatives. Everyone I have encountered offers a unique experience of what it means to be of color and a conservative. Not once have I ever heard an echo of disdain for our race. Our collective response to the rising statistics of violence and teen pregnancy among African American youth is one of concern, which is not greatly different from those of our race who are Democrats.

This image is one of the earliest photographs of Africans being rescued from a slave ship by the British Royal Navy from the British National Archives.

This image is one of the earliest photographs of Africans being rescued from a slave ship by the British Royal Navy from the British National Archives.

Before any moonbat attack dropping are delineated  upon myself or other black conservatives like Michael Steele, Condeleeza Rice Thomas Sowell please bother to listen to where our conclusions on race and politics derive from.  In many of our accounts, you can hear the same tone of empathy and a desire to seek a political solution.  Without knowing that we are conservatives,  it  can hardly be argued otherwise that we are NOT BLACK.  The history and struggles of our race in America has inextricably bonded us in collective trauma that seem inescapable. Our DNA time machine puts us all on that boat.  However we should all embrace the fact that our country’s democracy and freedom of expression has rendered African American individuals with experiences and  ideologies that could not make us more different. Yes, we were all in the same boat but we are seeking to liberate and understand ourselves in a myriad of ways.

Autographed Letter Signed,

AFROCITY

