Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Conservative Night Cap: Still Stitching, Still Bitching July 23, 2009

kitty kkk 3

Today was pretty busy for me,  I posted about Obama and his farce of a press conference at a relatively early for me.  It is not easy being a one woman blog. Unfortunately unlike my PUMA pals at The Confluence, I don’t have a Fantastic Four, five or six,  rotation blogger team ready to jump in when Afrocity is too tired, or on a business trip, or just plain too angry to blog.

Ok, to be fair -not that there would be a boatload of conservative PUMA bloggers to join forces with me anyway. Elderj  aka “The Black Commenter” is the only other conservative PUMA I know besides myself. Afrocity is on her own here.

It is appropriate to lable this poster as racist.

It is appropriate to label this poster/flyer as racist.

After posting, I got dressed and went about my day.  I watched a bit of Fox News. No one was mentioning the Obama response on the Cambridge Police Department.  How strange , I thought but then again Obama is the man who got away with comparing Sarah Palin to a pig.

“Phony Outrage”, is how then presidential candidate Barack Obama scripted criticism of his remarks.  His response reminded me of that of a frat boy  date rapist. The sort of man that coaxes you into not calling the authorities because his family is more influential than yours.

The mainstream media resides so deep in his pocket that they must feast daily on his clothes lint.

If Barack Obama says it didn’t happen, then it did not happen. I figured the media had ignored yet another example of Obama’s deeply arrogant and race baiting nature.

I was wrong . While riding in my car, I tuned in to the Rush Limbaugh show and thankfully Rush was on top of it.  Thanks Rush for pointing out that this “Post Racial” garbage is just that- garbage.  I have included some of the Rush Limbaugh transcript.

I have also included a clip of White House Press Secretary, Robert Gibbs speaking with Rachel Maddow about Obama’s remarks on the Cambridge Police.

I find Rachel Maddow to be an utter disappointment as a journalist. She is a Kool Aid drinker, and says  Obama’s joke about “being shot” was funny. “It was a good joke”, Maddow says.  give me a break.

FROM THE RUSH LIMBAUGH SHOW:

RUSH: Okay.  So I’ve long thought that there’s a chip on the shoulder here, and that there’s a little anger out there at the country based on who his mentors, associates, all that were.  Gates was not “stopped.” This was not a profiling case.  Let’s review what happened. To the best of my knowledge, a neighbor sees Gates. (interruption) Okay.  Okay.  Oh, okay.  A friend and driver of the car, in addition to Gates, tried to get in the house.  Gates and one other person.  And some neighbor said, “Whoa, what was that? That doesn’t look right.” They called the police. My first reaction would be to thank the neighbor for looking out for me.  But I guarantee you the neighbor is also going to be, before this is all over, a racist. In Cambridge now. We’re talking Harvard, Cambridge!

We’re talking idyllic liberal setting.  It may as well be Duke.  May as well be the lacrosse team here.  May as well be that dancer.  Gates and a friend break in, and the cops show up, and apparently all hell breaks loose inside the house, handcuffs and so forth.  Obama doesn’t know what all happened — and we don’t, either.  There are five or six different versions of what went on in there.  We still really don’t know.  Bill Cosby has come out today in Boston, and he can’t believe the president would say what he said about this admitting he doesn’t know all the facts.  So Obama wasn’t quite through.  After taking this incident — where Gates was not stopped. He was not pulled over. The cops were called there by somebody in the neighborhood.  This was not a profiling incident.  Here’s more from President Obama.

OBAMA: When I was in the state legislature in Illinois, we worked on a racial profiling, uh, bill because there was indisputable evidence that blacks and Hispanics were being stopped disproportionately. Uh, and that is a sign, an example of how, you know, race remains a factor in the society.  That doesn’t lessen the incredible progress that has been made. I am standing here as testimony to the progress that’s been made, and yet the fact of the matter is that, you know, this still haunts us.

RUSH: Okay, wasn’t supposed to.  We’re supposed to be beyond all this now, right?  Postpartisan, postracial.  So last week we dump on the white firefighters; this week from the Oval Office… Obama’s buddies at ACORN dumping on the white firefighters in New Haven.  This week from actually the East Room we now start dumping on cops.  The cop in question, Sergeant James Crowley, had this exchange with an unidentified reporter.

REPORTER: Mr. Gates has asked you for an apology.  What is your reaction to that?

CROWLEY: There will be no apology.

REPORTER: Does it…? Is this now and ever no apology?

CROWLEY: Yes.

RUSH: No apology. He didn’t do anything wrong.  We’ve heard now this guy gave mouth-to-mouth resuscitation to Reggie Lewis of the Boston Celtics who’d had a heart attack. He’s black. The cop was even citing this. “I didn’t see race. I saw a human being in distress,” and the neighbor in Cambridge, a neighbor of Professor Gates.  This is quick.  It’s five seconds long.

NEIGHBOR: I would have to say, you know, it was — as the police report said — “belligerent.”

RUSH: He was belligerent, talking about Gates.  Now, here’s Charlie Ogletree, Harvard professor, Gates’ lawyer, on ABC’s Good Morning America.  The question: “What was your client’s reaction to the president’s comments tonight?”

 

11 Responses to “Conservative Night Cap: Still Stitching, Still Bitching”

  1. Mr. Roach Says:

    The issue that first came out with Jeremiah Wright and never fully resolved is “Who is the real Barack Obama?” Is he the intelligent, even-handed, biracial “racial healer” who will unite the country in a vision of serious attention to longstanding issues and put to rest some of the feelings of alienation and self-destructiveness among blacks, particularly young black men? Or is he a race man, a super-clever version of Al Sharpton or Jesse Jackson who is simply playing the game on this postracial stuff, but, when push comes to shove, will always follow the flawed, post-60s black political script: blaming whites more and more the worse blacks behave, siding with crooks over law enforcement, and making excuses in phantom racism when the fuel (but not the roots) of black America’s problems today are spiritual and cultural.

    I think he’s shown us who he is in this episode. It’s depressing. I didn’t vote for him or McCain. But a little part of me hoped he’d do something good for the country by his very presence. No such luck.

    • afrocity Says:

      I feel worse about my the state of my race now than I did in the 70’s. I feel that things have become worse because Obama is exploiting it. If we had truly advanced beyond racism as a country, Obama’s race would never have been an issue to begin with.

    • WMCB Says:

      I had hoped he would, too. Now, nobody detests Obama more than me. I fought HARD to see him not elected. But I will confess (and am almost embarrassed to say) that I teared up a little at the inauguration. Not because I thought he’d be a good president – I knew better. But because just the fact that he was there was moving, and maybe just that fact would do a little good in unconscious ways, ya know?

      Now I’m even more pissed, because he can’t even let me enjoy that symbolism, sparse as that enjoyment was. He just had to take the same old same old knee-jerk victim road.

      • afrocity Says:

        I teared up too WMCB, but it was not for Obama. It was for older black Americans like my mom and grandmother who had not lived to see the moment . It was a moment we all wanted. I just wish it had gone to a better man.

      • WMCB Says:

        Exactly. I teared up for what it meant, and what it could mean about how far down the road we’ve come, regardless of who the man was.

        And in spite of how bad I knew he was, a part of me hoped that at least the race part would be positive. That even if he screwed up everything else regarding the job (and I knew he would), he could help change some of those tired old ruts that keep both blacks and whites in stasis re: each other.

        And now I go, “Damn. he can’t even get THAT right!” How freaking insane do you have to be to be standing there as the duly elected, by all our peoples, PRESIDENT of the most freaking powerful country in the WORLD and put on your “poor victim voice”? but he slipped into it as comfortable as an old shoe.

        That doesn’t quite say it right, not exactly. I’m having a hard time describing exactly what I mean, but hopefully you understand.

      • afrocity Says:

        WMCB, take a look at the TC archives for inauguration day. It is interesting.

  2. Mr. Roach Says:

    For what it’s worth, I just found your blog and really like it. I especially liked your criteria for commenters; I like nice posters with balls. : )

    I have a similar policy over at mine. I don’t care if you disagree (and I would be scared if too many people did) as long as you’re rational, you make appropriate concessions and citations to facts, and you don’t flip out.

    • meeee2 Says:

      I agree with you….this is a great blog!! The best part is people can share their opinions without being called names. I’m looking for new places to read intelligent, well-written opinions and not find the comment section loaded for bear with sarcastic and cruel name-calling coming from the many people who don’t know how to deal with anyone who has a different viewpoint.

  3. johninca Says:

    I just can’t get excited about another meaningless, completely contrived racial story; these sorts of things, like the birther issue, are distractions drawing attention away from the evil this president is doing.

  4. John morris Says:

    I think that’s the core mechanism at work here– distraction.

    Whether or not, Obama had one racist bone or skin cell in his body, he would at some point have to fall back on some form of distraction and scapegoating for the simple reason that — his policies have not and cannot work.

    He has to do this for the same reason every collectivist ruler from Joseph Stalin ( blamed kulaks, Imperialists) to Adolf Hitler (Jews, Gypsies, Slavs, Poles) Mao (Rich Peasants), Robert Mugabe (White imperialists)Castro (White American Imperialists).

    Sooner or later, they must go down that road because their basic ideas result in disaster.

    “Scapegoating is an important tool of propaganda; the most famous example in modern history is the singling out in Nazi propaganda of the Jews as the source of Germany’s post-World War I economic woes and political collapse.

    Scapegoating is often more devastating when applied to a minority group as they are inherently less able to defend themselves. A tactic often employed is to characterize an entire group of individuals according to the unethical or immoral conduct of a small number of individuals belonging to that group, also known as guilt by association.

    “Scapegoated” groups throughout history have included almost every imaginable group of people: adherents of different religions, people of different races or nations, people with different political beliefs, or people differing in behaviour from the majority. However, scapegoating may also be applied to organizations, such as governments, corporations, or various political groups.”

  5. We have three observations about the Harvard professor incident:

    1. We find it interesting that the fact that this was the professor’s home was evidently not established early on way before the dispute escalated;

    2. We find it fascinating that the versions of two members of society, who most would ordinarily view as responsible and honest citizens (this obviously does not include politicians), would vary so dramatically from a factual point of view.

    3. Finally, considering that the reading and viewing public were not present at the scene (and thus have no first hand knowledge), and that there is no video tape to our knowledge of the sequence of events and what was said, how so many have formed conclusions, and made assumptions, about who did what and who was wrong.

    There are some things which Professor Gates might have considered upon the arrival of the police, no matter how incensed he may have been.


Comments are closed.