Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Sunday Soliloquy: Just Another Liberal Whipping Post July 12, 2009

Liberty whipAs some of the brighter Obamabots are taking a slightly less than optimistic view of his presidency, please allow me to capitalize on this occasion by gloating:

Ha ha ha Ho Hee Ha Ha ha ho hee hoo ho Ha hee hee

Ha ha ha Ho Hee Ha Ha ha ho hee hoo ho Ha hee hee

Ha ha ha Ho Hee Ha Ha ha ho hee hoo ho Ha hee heeHa ha ha Ho Hee Ha Ha ha ho hee hoo ho Ha hee heeHa ha ha Ho Hee Ha Ha ha ho hee hoo ho Ha hee heeHa ha ha Ho Hee Ha Ha ha ho hee hoo ho Ha hee hee.

Okay, that was fun.  Now that it is out of my system, I realize there is still much work to be done.  First I want to apologize to my readers for harping on the affirmative action issue.  Afrocity is African American after all (duh) and quite concerned about the reliance of her fellow minority citizens on this system of quotas to insure our success.

I realize that I come from a different background than most of my Caucasian friends. Many had two parents, the automatic garage door, a Whiffle ball. I had one mom, a toilet that couldn’t flush without the aid of a coat hanger, and a WIC card.  The thing is , despite it all, I made it. I would like to think that affirmative action had nothing to do with my success and I turned down the minority scholarship money in order to prove it. Government welfare paid to raise me as a child, I no longer need it as an adult.

A lot of emails have been coming to me calling me a turncoat. I am not against my own race. My thoughts on affirmative action reflects this by articulating that as women and minorities, we can rise to the top through our own initiative and intelligence.  There is no denying that there are racial, gender, and class tensions within our society.  My contention is that affirmative action only functions to dislocate discrimination, not eradicate it.

For several weeks I’ve noticed that my comments register a high piss off factor among many PUMAs who are women and gays. You know that Afrocity is a conservative PUMA, therefore you should know that Afrocity believes in self-reliance and has faith that America is a country where all dreams are possible. Even for little ovulating brown-skinned citizens like me!

Wise-cracking remarks against whites were the norm in my house, especially when it came to my mother finding a job. One parental legend was that she once applied for a secretarial position and the HR person tore up her application as soon as she left the room (mother could see her through the frosted glass door).

My mother’s response: This is proof that a black woman can never get anywhere.

Afrocity’s response: Keep on looking for a job until someone recognizes your talent and worth.

I always found it burdensome to mediate the high achiever in me with the “two strike against you” meme.

Five-Pillars-of-the-Liberal-FaithYes Afrocity you are young, gifted and black BUT the white man serves to keep you down.  Quite the self-esteem buster don’t you think? It puts a considerable amount of pressure on a child to tell them to be successful, yet warn them of the bigots and cultural boogie men that are out to get them. Why get into the race at all if I am going to lose or come in seventh? Oh, what was that? This same boogie man that is out to get me is going to institute quotas in order to help me finish the race? Isn’t this a contradiction? Doesn’t it really say that as a black woman, I am not capable of achieving anything on my own merit ? I need the majority powers that be controlling my life and pulling strings for me? A little extra pine tar on my ball to give it a special umph?

This is all false heroics on the part of the liberals. Minorities and women, vote only for the Democrats, they saved us  from the boogie man and now we can eat our government cheese and breastfeed our babies at the front of the bus rather than the back.

Liberals identify with the mass hysteria approach and employ its use for rallying voter blocks of victims.

The SCOTUS Ricci v. DeStefano decision has blacks especially fearful that affirmative action is on its way to a slow agonizing death for racial equality.  As with Joe the Plumber during the 2008 campaign, the liberals are now attacking Mr. Ricci digging up any perceived speck of dirt in his past.The number of times he masturbated to a Pam Grier poster, the stolen apples from a fruit stand…

Sotomayor backers urge reporters to probe New Haven firefighter

July 10, 2009

By Michael Doyle and David Lightman | McClatchy Newspapers

WASHINGTON — Supporters of Supreme Court nominee Sonia Sotomayor are quietly targeting the Connecticut firefighter who’s at the center of Sotomayor’s most controversial ruling.

On the eve of Sotomayor’s Senate confirmation hearing, her advocates have been urging journalists to scrutinize what one called the “troubled and litigious work history” of firefighter Frank Ricci.

On Friday, citing in an e-mail “Frank Ricci’s troubled and litigious work history,” the liberal advocacy group People for the American Way drew reporters’ attention to Ricci’s past. Other advocates for Sotomayor have discreetly urged journalists to pursue similar story lines.

Specifically, the advocates have zeroed in on an earlier 1995 lawsuit Ricci filed claiming the city of New Haven discriminated against him because he’s dyslexic. The advocates cite other Hartford Courant stories from the same era recounting how Ricci was fired by a fire department in Middletown, Conn., allegedly, Ricci said at the time, because of safety concerns he raised.

The Middletown-area fire department was subsequently fined for safety violations, but the Connecticut Department of Labor dismissed Ricci’s retaliation complaint.

No People for the American Way officials could be reached Friday to speak on the record about the press campaign.

“To go after so sympathetic a plaintiff as Frank Ricci . . . is a new low in the politics of personal destruction,” said Roger Pilon, the director of the libertarian Cato Institute’s Center for Constitutional Studies. “If they were smart, they’d keep a low profile.”

Ricci, though, has his own advocates, including conservative commentators such as CNN’s Lou Dobbs and Fox’s Sean Hannity…

With his awards for bravery, some 17 years of fire department service and history of overcoming dyslexia, Ricci has become a compelling human character in the Sotomayor confirmation drama. Senate Republicans have summoned him, along with Lt. Ben Vargas of the New Haven Fire Department, as two of their 14 witnesses next week.

Though even Republicans concede Sotomayor appears poised to win confirmation, the hearing — and Ricci’s part in them — could be exploited politically. The case is symbolic of race-based preferences, which conservatives have long rejected.

“Affirmative action remains a potentially useful issue for the GOP,” Rose noted, and “this case has the potential of perhaps mobilizing the Republican party again.”

Republican Sen. Lindsey Graham of South Carolina added that many Americans can identify with Ricci, making him an especially attractive witness for the GOP and potentially dangerous for Democrats.

“He took on a second job and worked hard, but was denied due to the same legal concepts” that were designed to protect people’s rights, Graham said.

traitor I find the actions on the part of the Sotomayer advocates to be problematic for the core values of liberalism.

To what extent is the distinction between racism and hypocrisy? White man wins case proving that the firefighters should have all been treated equally with regards to promotion, white man has dyslexia, still passes test, white man gets probed because he wins his case.

Ricci is now the face of anti-affirmative action propaganda, a role I am not sure if he wanted but he’s got it and therefore he is now on the liberal hit list. A hit list that includes Sarah Palin because she is pro-life,  former Ms. California Carrie Prejean because she is anti-gay marriage, and did include Joe the Plumber because he was anti-spreading the wealth. Thus when any person looms again as a threat on the liberal horizon,  they can expect to receive gestapo like investigations and ridicule.

The Obama Era is beginning to look much like the McCarthy Era. Ricci despite being a person of “non-color” is allowed to fight for his rights or the rights of  “white men” just as much as anyone is for the rights of women or minorities. The investigations into his past are showing mistrust on the part of liberals at anyone who does not tow the victim line. This goes for racially guiltless whites.  I believe that Ricci and the nineteen other  firefighters felt that an injustice had been carried out by the New Haven Fire Department that should not have happened in a truly democratic society.

I believe that the Ricci decision should broaden our understanding of affirmative action and serve as a starting point to abolish polarized government intervention.  If liberals have a beef, they should target the decision and not the man.  While I resolve to disagree with my liberal acquaintances on the necessity of affirmative action, we should at least arrive at a mutual consensus that opposition to liberal values should not be personified through the use of human targets.  It is obvious that liberals see the Ricci decision as a watershed of race and gender crisis.  Fair enough, but I see it as a compelling historical shift in the narrative of justice and equality that is destined for further investigation.

Autographed Letter Signed,

AFROCITY

 

30 Responses to “Sunday Soliloquy: Just Another Liberal Whipping Post”

  1. jbjd Says:

    My black teenage son supported BO, at first. A white woman asked why. ‘Because he’s black.’ She said yes, but, he may not be the best candidate. ‘I don’t care,’ he replied, ‘he’s black.’ Now the woman said well, he’s only half black; his mother is white. My son countered, ‘Yes, but he looks black.’ As the primary wore on, he re-thought his position. One day – I remember this as if it was yesterday – he was on his way into the living room and caught BO talking on t.v. He stood there listening for a minute. Then, he turned to me. ‘But he’s not saying anything!’ After that, he fell in love with HRC, a feeling he only shared with me and his white friends, most of whom are Jewish, like us. So, AC, I know, it isn’t easy being the odd person out. But maybe there are more of you out there than you know.

  2. WMCB Says:

    Many minorities came to this country and have persevered and thrived despite the playing field not being at all level for them. That has engendered in those communities a sense of pride, accomplishment, and expectation of excellence even when the odds are against you. It engenders belief that not only can you excel if things are equal, but you can rise to the occasion even over significant obstacles. That sort of pride is DEEP and lasting in an ethnic community. You cannot manufacture it with cultural self-esteem seminars.

    We have laws that now prohibit any sort of legal, entrenched, systemic racial discrimination. I am glad for that justice. It doesn’t mean that some racism does not still exist – but it is for the most part found out and punished fairly regularly. The remaining racism in this country, which is not the legal and institutional kind but the “mindset” kind, is not going to be legislated away by quotas. If you think that it is, you are chasing a phantom. It is going to have to be OVERCOME on an individual, person-by-person basis.

    The tragedy of AfAction, to me, is that it is too often the very thing that is ROBBING the AA community of that deep sense of true, TANGIBLE accomplishment in the face of difficulty that is so essential to the self-respect of a community. And I believe the Left, and the “professional AA mouthpieces” are doing much to hurt the community they sincerely profess to respect. It’s just sad.

    Afrocity, you are not a traitor. Your difficult position comes from the well of concern you do have for your family and neighbors and descendants one day. It’s your love for your race, not a rejection of it, that is evident to me. Love is often expressed by telling people what they don’t want to hear, because you can see the end result of the road they are on. I don’t have a problem with anyone disagreeing with you on whether the program is effective. Debating that is fine, and legitimate. I DO have a problem with anyone who would tell you it’s because you don’t care. That’s bullshit.

    Peace and love, sister.

    • WMCB – the very sad fact is the same sort of pride of accomplishment and expectation of excellence was a strong part of the Black community in this country as well. How else can we account for people coming directly from slavery and yet in fifty years building a whole system of colleges and universities to educate themselves, whole business districts, and neighborhoods and churches? What has been more detrimental than anything republicans have done to Blacks is the things liberals have done in their efforts to “help” which has resulted in the worst outcomes for Black Americans of any group, and which keeps us perpetually on the bottom of the stack.

      • WMCB Says:

        I know. There were truly amazing achievements during those decades. Not that there have been none since – of course not. But I truly believe that many well-intentioned programs have actually blunted the force of Black achievement, not advanced it.

      • boldandbald Says:

        I don’t think you really meant it to come out the way it did, but what, exactly, have Republicans “done to Blacks”?

  3. kywrite Says:

    Don’t apologize. Thomas Sowell would not apologize.

    I’m more or less white (with some weird stuff in the background) and redneck by birth. I grew up in a crappy fire-prone trailer, with well water that had to be hauled in rather than city water. We got water when my dad could afford to pay for it, a big water tanker pulling up in the yard to pipe it directly into the well. As a small girl, we had an outhouse that did not flush at all, but that did have snakes — though we did later get an indoor toilet that, due to the water issue, we could not, er, flush every time.

    We were allotted one bath per week, rough on me as I tend to have greasy hair. I wore a lot of hand-me-downs, and was the first person in my immediate family to graduate high school, let alone go to college — and on full merit-based scholarship. I chose to be different from my family, too.

    Your color does not matter. It’s all about your character, and how that character overcomes hardship. Obama went to the private Punahou school here in Hawaii, where only the wealthiest kids go — and he was not on scholarship. Do you really think he flushed with a coathanger? Doubt it. Haoli – whites – are discriminated against here; being black is considered kinda cool, and it’s been like that a long time. Trust me, Obama’s experience as a black man was way, way different from that of the average black American, and as a result his character is different from that of a Thomas Sowell or a Chris Gardner.

    And one more thing: the most successful and promising person I know is a strong black woman. You’d love her; she’s dealing with the recent loss of her mom to cancer, the impending loss of her father to dementia, and the disposition of her two autistic brothers as a result. Through it all, she’s pursuing her career at a Fortune 500 company, acquiring her MBA, and is still the most wonderful, giving, intelligent person in the world. Again, it’s character; she was raised by an amazing woman with an amazing family.

    Color only matters to those who allow it to matter. You never have, from what you say, at least not in a negative way. Don’t start now.

    • Nice to hear your story, kwrite–it’s very interesting. Congratulations on your successes. You are right about character. I’d add maturity, too. Maturity doesn’t have anything to do with age, either; I know people in their 70’s who probably aren’t half as mature as Afrocity. Growing up means facing reality, dealing with it, and moving forward.

      • kywrite Says:

        You’ll have to wait for the movie to hear the rest. 😉

        I have to agree about maturity, though the two are linked. I remember always feeling more mature than my parents — and my grandparents, after my brothers and I caught them shoplifting and had to “police” them in the store!

        (Love the avatar, btw. Need to figure out how to do mine, when I have time!)

    • WMCB Says:

      I was raised by a single mom, who though she had a college degree had a severe mental illness and was in and out of mental hospitals my entire childhood. I lived for a time in an honest-to-god orphanage (church-run). We lived in places that were condemned by the city within days of us moving out. I lived in 16 different rentals by the time I was 14. I went without heat at least 3 winters, without electricity, without water from time to time. I can remember at about 10 y/o sitting at the counter eating peanut butter with a spoon from a huge industrial metal can, because that’s all that was in the house to eat that day (we had picked it up along with govt cheese at some program or another.) And I’d bet my bottom dollar that I spent more time around poor blacks growing up than Obama EVER has, since if you are dirt-poor white trash in SC, you all live and play together in the same neighborhood, just trying to survive.

      Maybe, like you, and like Afrocity, that gives me a different perspective from those who seem all awash with this starry-eyed theoretical view of the poor, and what it means to be poor, and what it will take to HELP.

      • afrocity Says:

        God bless you WMCB. Obama grew up better than most on my block, in fact from what I hear most of his upbringing was not even done in this country. He is older than I and I have never heard of his track record as a community organizer until his election. Funny I never saw him at the food pantry.

      • kywrite Says:

        We really understand that “there but for the grace of God,” don’t we?

        I actually miss government cheese, though. Had some good recipes for it! But it’s worth the trade-off, methinks.

    • afrocity Says:

      Thank you kywrite. It is good for me to hear the stories of others. I grew up most of my life feeling like a freak because of the extreme poverty conditions I lived in. Like WMCB a few of the places should have been condemned and I know what it is to flush with a bucket of water.

      What needs to happen is that more folks like us run for office than these status quo elites.

      • kywrite Says:

        Ditto. My war hero brother (so proud of him, so I keep saying that! 🙂 went from skinny to stacked because he carried two five-gallon buckets of water from a well to my grandparents’ home (next door to us) about a half-mile on hilly gravel road every day so they could flush! Wow, what memories. He’s a highly-valued machine toolist today running a small business on the side with two kids, a great wife, and a house he’s remodeling himself.

        I think that’s why people like us don’t run for office. We’re too busy making lives for our families that are unlike those we led. The government is run by people who’ve never had to struggle and who never will — and who have the time to hang out at cocktail parties to meet people with even more money. Regardless of party, they talk alike, they think — well, not alike, but more alike than they would with a poor person of their same party — and they all have that je ne sais quoi that reeks of “one of us”. The poor are simply votes to them, tools rather than real people, or at least no more real than characters in a story. Secondary, red-shirt characters — disposable for the greater good, or for the conservation of the story’s Hero, themselves.

        You and I — no pretense, no BS, no high-end schools with buddies in common with the rich donors, just a genuine vision of what’s right and what’s wrong. That was one of Palin’s advantages in Alaska — even though she didn’t go to the wealthy schools, Alaska’s small enough that she still had connections with those people. Yet since she did not have the je ne sais quoi, she scared the heck out of the PTB — shoot, she’s a rabble-rouser, and the only other character in a story who can face down the hero without being One Of Us — is the VILLAIN. So both sides went shooting for her.

  4. yochanan ben avrohom Says:

    my father died when i was in jr high so I guess I was raised by a single head house hold being poor isn’t so bad if your moral values etc are strong. I did not blame anyone for it.

  5. Peter Says:

    This is not the McCarthy era. During the McCarthy era there really were communists in the State Department and the Defense Department.

    Ricci, though, is a different story. His crime is simple, he wouldn’t let mindless liberalism crap all over him. For that he must be punished.

  6. manbearpig68 Says:

    I think Al Sharpton’s statement the other day at MJ’s funeral was fitting saying that MJ made all the white people comfortable enough with black people and other races to vote in a black president. So from that I guess we could say that the majority of people don’t care about race anymore. So according to Al sharpton we can get rid of affirmative action..

    The Sotomayer issue is liberal idiocracy at it’s best. We are the people that take care of mankind and the preservation of everything that is good in this world, making sure everybody gets a fair chance. But only if you agree with us and look at things the same way we do, otherwise we will make your life miserable..

  7. Stateofdisbelief Says:

    The problem with painting all liberals with the same broad brush is that it fails to recognize there are those of us (liberals) who have read the decision, understand it, and know that it was essentially a non-event in regards to having any effect on Affirmative Action.
    The decision did not overturn or impact any Affirmative Action rules. It merely interpreted and strengthened the rules regarding an employer’s obligation when developing and implementing employment testing in order to comply with Title VII. In that vein, there is no connection to Affirmative Action. That is a misnomer each side is attempting to capitalize on without having a legal basis to make such claims.

    • Jessica In PA Says:

      The problem with you as a liberal is that you fall into the denial of reality category. What ultimately matters is the perception of ruling. Like Afrocity said African Americans are seeing the ruling as cause for alarm. That is the reality who cares what the ruling says? Also if what you are saying is true why are liberal crazies attacking Mr. Ricci? I am on the same boat as Afrocity, liberals have scary control issues when it comes to diversity of thought. They are the least tolerant.

      • Stateofdisbelief Says:

        Maybe if you read my comment before you went into conservative attack-dog mode because I self-identified as a liberal you may have actually understood what I was saying.

        In any event, please explain how you find my “FACTUAL” and “LEGALLY ACCURATE” description of the decision to represent “denial of reality” and then go on to say that “What ultimate matters is the perception of the ruling?” It is you that therefore cannot separate fact from fiction and are therefore “perceiving” the decision to be something it is not.

        The “liberal crazies” attacking Ricci are as wrong as you are. Try counting to 10 before you go off half-cocked just because the person speaking self-identifies as a liberal.

      • Jessica In PA Says:

        What a hypocrite you are when you went into liberal attack dog mode. You are the one who said you were a liberal. You are denying reality that for Joe six pack or main street mandy your legally accurate dribble means nothing but AA is going down the drain and the liberal crazies let the moonbattery tricks out of the bag.

        I will count to ten but afraid some liberal will try to tax me for it. Liberals ruined my state and I have no sympathy for them.

      • Stateofdisbelief Says:

        blah blah blah…talking point…blah blah blah….talking point…blah blah blah.

        enjoy your ride on the wheel. buh bye

    • manbearpig68 Says:

      Liberals use the biggest brush they can find. They always know what is best for the people whenever they gain any amount power. We’ve seen that once again since the beginning of 2009. Government wants to make a decision and closes everybody out that may be a problem.

      What the hell are you talking about, having no effect on affirmative action?

      It doesn’t matter if you read the case or not. Affirmative action is way past doing any good and it is working against people.

      • Stateofdisbelief Says:

        wow…that’s really deep. The decision doesn’t matter, but it matters.

        Gosh, I’ll have to go think about that for a long time. See ya!

      • manbearpig68 Says:

        Good, go think about it in your Liberal kitty pan!!!

      • Hey! Lay off SOD! She’s one of the liberals I have at least some respect for as she thoughtfully considers issues and has determined to land on the liberal side of the fence. Certainly we disagree on a number of things, but it may be important to at least consider carefully the specifics of what she says before replying in a less then reflective manner.

      • Jessica In PA Says:

        Manbear that state of disbelief will need a big scoop for all the liberal shit in her pan. No clear argument just the normal liberal mocking and calling us names, then she runs away. If the shoe fits wear it.

      • Jessica In PA Says:

        SOD came here calling us names. She is not a regular commenter here and comes just to put down Afrocity and this blog. None of her comments are thoughtful.

      • i’m sorry, I didn’t see where she called any one names. In any event, we should aim to be civil and fair minded even when others are not. I don’t know that her comments are not thoughtful; that is a matter of opinion.

  8. boldandbald Says:

    “Many had two parents, the automatic garage door, a Whiffle ball.”

    I resent this remark. I had to lift that garage door myself! And it was heavy! And those Whiffle balls kept breaking, too! 😉

    The fact is that there are stupid people and smart people in all walks of life. And there are people who will look for one excuse after another to explain why they have failed in life, no matter what their upbringing or social status might be. Character comes from within, and has nothing to do with skin color, gender or financial situation. I was speaking just the other day to a client that happens to be a minister. He was saying that a person should be judged by their effort to do their job to the best their ability, whatever that job may be. He talked about how Michael Jackson was being praised, in death, as a great person; and, while he may have earned large sums of money for doing what he did, was he any more valuable as a person than the person that greets you when you enter Wal-Mart, if that person puts all their effort in to doing that job to the best of their ability? This goes for everything we do in our lives, not just our jobs. That, I believe, is where character shows through the most; In our effort to be the best person we can be, and that knows no social barriers, no gender and no ethnic background.


Comments are closed.