Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Thursday Stitch N’ Bitch: White Go Go Boots, Prop 8, Hell and a Handbasket May 28, 2009

Basket weaver girlGood morning ALS readers. I want to apologize for neglecting you over the last couple of days. It is not easy maintaining a blog solo. Creating Autographed Letter Signed, is the best thing that has happened to me since I have come out of the closet as a conservative. For the past several days, I have been extremely angry, which translates into blogger’s  block. Afraid that  will write something that will offend readers, I let my feelings marinate for a bit before taking to my keyboard. Unfortunately my method did not work this time and I am still pissed off but here  am at my keyboard with so many awful feelings still leftover from current events.  But that is what Thursday Stitch N’ Bitch is for right?

Today we are not stitching anything so put your needles away. Registration has just opened for basket weaving 101. There is even an underwater version of the class being offered. Hurry! Seats fill up fast.

When it became clear to me that Obama would win the presidency,  I hoped that my fears about him being an inexperienced puppet for the left would be disproven. I was wrong. Very wrong. It is far more worse than I have ever imagined. Is it just me or is our country increasingly becoming unrecognizable?  First let’s talk for a bit about Sotomayor. I don’t give a damn about her and Republican’s should not either. However, I do think there s something to this “new racism” that is quite unsettling. Funny how when it is a liberal in question, it suddenly becomes PC to exploit ones underprivileged or racially diverse background as a skill set, yet if someone from the right utters one word about their cultural journey like RNC chairman Michael Steele, or Sarah Palin (yes diversity goes beyond race), Condeleeza Rice or  Joe the Plumber, the left goes bonkers and attempts to prove that they are a demon from outer space.

This is my new PUMA image. Afrocity is going to hell in a handbasket in style.

This is my new PUMA image. Afrocity is going to hell in a handbasket in style.

Several weeks ago, I had a conversation with an Obamabot friend.  I was trying not to bring up politics but you know that never works and there we were discussing prop 8 and abortion. She was surprised that I was pro-choice and had hopes that I was “coming back around” to the Democrats. Don’t choke on your goat cheese panini, that boat has sailed my dear. The more I am around the multitudes of Democrats in this city, the more I feel like a fool for having ever supported them. The smug sanctimonious “my way of life is better than yours and the government must help every body bullshit”  makes me dry heave. This talk of taxing potato chips and soda pop, panting rooftops white to save us from global warming. American obesity is all so fucking paramount too since ya know North Korea is like testing Nooclear weapons and we can all eat lots more with that gaping hole in our stomachs. I am angry that the feds are buying General Motors. We are looking more and more like the former Soviet Union every damn day.

I was recently regaled with a tale from a former black drug addict about the drive he participated in during the 1960’s to get African Americans to switch from the Republican Party to the Democrats. How is that working for us?  He then continued by saying that he hopes Obama gives his family some money. Ha! Fat Chance. The Obama will save us mantra is so  tongue n’ cheek for the black community now. Sticking a bony hand into that mailbox hoping to grab a pony must be old by now.  This brings me back to my liberal friend and Prop 8 and the disturbing questions surrounding blacks and their hatred for gays.

Look, it is not a race thing. You guys know that I have an entire database of mom stories. I say this will all honesty. There has never once been a time that my family has ever said that they disapproved of homosexuality due to the fact that most homosexuals and lesbians were white.  Don’t misunderstand, the disapproval was still there and something I have had to battle against in my own psyche.  Mother told me my first homophobia story when I was six years old. That winter brought the UGGs of my time…Tiny white snow boots. I was obsessed with having a pair but mom resisted my pleas. While walking down State Street, I would plant myself in front of Baker’s Shoes, just staring at the boots. They would look so cute with my parochial uniform and I would be just like the other girls in class. It all came to a head one day when I pitched a fit and mother had to drag me away from Baker’s into Woolworths. She was looking for a bra and Woolworth five n’ dime bras as cheap as it may sound, were a luxury for her.  She proposed that I go into the basement section to look at the toys she would never buy me. Nope, I sat there on the floor under a rack of girdles. She was gonna watch those tears dry on my face.  I had half expected to get pulled into a public bathroom for an impromptu spanking when she took my hand and sat me at the red leather bar stool in the luncheonette. Woolworth’s cheeseburgers were my favorite. Not fair. I smiled as mother rolled her eyes at me. I would continue to stage my own sit in for the boots. It was my civil right to have a pair but nothing said I could not eat a tasty meal while staging my non-violent protest.  Gleefully, I ordered my cheeseburger with extra pickles with fries and a rootbeer float. Mother got a bowl of cottage cheese on top of lime jello (she was always dieting).  The counter waitress was slicing a pizza for another customer as I began to twirl round and round on my barstool, kicking my feet. How lovely I would look in those white snow boots.

sit in

“I would never order pizza here.” Mother said with a look of disdain.  She was a Chicago pizza snob.  I ignored her thinking about my imaginary white boots. Around and around attempting to balance myself without having to grab onto to counter and feel all that old bubble gum that was stuck underneath. Someone called my mother’s name. It was a man’s voice , I turned to look but I was dizzy from all of the barstool twirling and fell on the floor into a pair of long brown legs wrapped in white go go boots.

“Oh my lord!”  The man said to my mother. “Child, I haven’t seen you since the riots.”

My mother didn’t notice me on the floor she seemed embarrassed. “Jackie where have you been?”

Jackie was “happy” and flapping his arms about hugging me my who just stood there stiffly.

“Who are you?”  I asked the man wearing a dress and the white boots I wanted to own.  Mother realized I existed and introduced me to Jackie. “Jackie is my best friend from the old neighborhood before you were born.”

“We were thick as thieves”  Jackie said loudly.  Standing there like dummies I jumped back on the stool, my cheeseburger was there. Jackie took the stool next to me with the waitress staring at him. His coat dress was a pretty white fur with camel fleece trim at the bottom. He sat his orange suede bag next to me.  “I will have a slice of sausage pizza and a Tab.”   Jackie said.  I looked at my mother to say the Woolworth’s pizza was nasty but she had picked up a pepper shaker and was putting way to much on her cottage cheese.  I said it for her. “Woolworth’s pizza is in-fear-ri-or.”  Inferior was my big word of the week. This was a game mom had invented for me.  Jackie looked at me. His hair was what we called “chemically processed” . Very wavy and had a hairnet over it.  He looked a bit like Prince during his “Little Red Corvette” days You know that album with Prince naked riding a unicorn?  That was Jackie.

70's style“Your momma never liked the pizza here. We have been coming to this Woolworth’s since the 40’s. That is a long ass time your momma and I been knowing each other.” Jackie stared at mother. “I helped you out a lot. Got you out of plenty of messes. I even spoke to you when you was carrying your son and gave you a place to stay when your daddy kicked you out of his house for being pregnant. Why you go an’ lose me like that?”  Jackie looked hurt. The waitress was taking too long just standing there with the slice of greasy pizza on a plate.

Mother would not look at Jackie, just the green jello and curdles of cheese. “You lost yourself when I saw you kissing a man in the back of a car on Pulaski. My daughter is here so I won’t say much about what it is that you are but you if sew the wind and you reap the whirlwind .”

Jackie shook his head “mm, mmm,mm. Now you found God but your kids don’t have a daddy still,” he said getting up.

“You don’t want this pizza no more?” The waitress asked . “I still have to charge you for it because I put it on a plate.”

Jackie threw down a 10 dollar bill which was enough to pay for all of us. He pushed the pizza towards me and mother reached across me real fast and pushed it away. “She does not like it either.”

Jackie started humming a song loudly and switched away from white boots and all. I would never see him again.  As for my mother, she was silent until she said ” You will never wear any white boots okay?”

I could only nod. That was just as well since Christmas was almost upon us anyway and I would want other things.

“White boots and dime store pizza is for sissies and loose women. You don’t want to look like a whore and go to hell in a handbasket do you?”

“No, momma.”

Jackie was a “sissy” I thought as I finished off my fries.  Sissies are men who wear women’s clothing. Flip Wilson wears women’s clothes when he plays Geraldine on his comedy show. Therefore he is a sissy. All sissies and whores go to hell just like the Beatles for playing rock music and wearing pants that are too tight.

Got it mom.

How easily the seeds of hatred are planted. And we were Democrats too. My mother was right there when the Chicago Eight raised hell in Grant Park. She felt most at home being a liberal but somehow it never translated to her forgiving Jackie for kissing a man. Jackie was African American but he could have been Caucasian and her reaction would have been just the same. There is no mental debate here. 80% of blacks voting for Prop 8 is not an issue of racism for them.

For Dummy 2

My mother mad Jackie lose heart over her strong religious belief that homosexuality was morally wrong. She did not care that he was black like her. He was not equal because he was not moral. This was the flaw in her liberal character. Bayard Rustin was a pivotal figure in the civil rights movement. How many of you have heard of Baryard Rustin? Bayard was African American. Bayard Rustin was Martin Luther King Jr.’s chief adviser. Bayard Rustin orchestrated King’s epic “March on Washington”. Bayard Rustin was also gay.  Bayard Rustin’s memory suffers from amnesia- the collective kind. African American’s have done very little to remedy this situation. Bayard Rustin is was a black man so let’s stop it with the accusations of racism. It is not helping matters.

My date and I at senior prom. 1988.

My date and I at senior prom. 1988.

Dirt cheap entertainment but thrilling is my Ipod. I have a tendency to listen to one song over and over again, depending on what mood I am in. Lately that song has been “Miss You” by the Rolling Stones. The song is appropriate to the American situation, this down spiral nook we have gotten ourselves into. I miss my mother,I miss my grandmother. I miss Martin Luther King and I didn’t know the guy. I wish he was here to wake my fellow African Americans up from this Kool Aid comma. I miss everything that was before this election, something has turned us all into racists. Eventually, I got past the things my mother taught me. My best friend in high school was gay. Tall, dark and strikingly handsome, he was a lot like “Jackie” helping me when mom and I got evicted from our apartment in 1987. I never told mother that he was gay but I think she knew and did not want to complicate the matter and chase away the only friend I had. He was my prom date and she seemed excited as she gathered the train from my fluffy dress snapping pictures. I miss the days of bubble gum pink prom dresses, nasty greasy Woolworth’s pizza and white go-go boots. My handbasket is fireproofed with memories of better times, independent will and the remembrance that we were once allowed the freedom to say what we wanted to say without being called racists.

Autographed Letter Signed,

AFROCITY

 

9 Responses to “Thursday Stitch N’ Bitch: White Go Go Boots, Prop 8, Hell and a Handbasket”

  1. mlhath Says:

    hey Afrocity:

    It was all a different time. I had a gay uncle. I didn’t really know it as a kid, tho the adults did. It wasn’t officially recognized. Everyone knew it, but no one talked about it. But at least he was accepted. My father, who was WAAAY religious (as in Catholic who joined an order of Brothers, but left when WWll broke out) was also surprisingly accepting.

    It seems to be a slow road to tolerance. But at least, for most, it seems to be moving. Except in the case of women, where it’s moving backwards.

    You have a gift for bringing a story to life. Thanks.

  2. boldandbald Says:

    As the old saying goes, if you are not angry then you are not paying attention.
    The left can point at the right all they want and call racism and intolerance, but the truth is that they are the ones who are truly intolerant and truly racist. They are the ones that will attack any minority that dares to be conservative and believe that they can succeed without the help of the left’s government handouts and handups. The left’s policies will handout with one hand while taking away with the other; they will put one hand out offering to pull up and then slap down with the other. We need to keep hearing from people like Michael Steele, AlfonZo Rachel, Lloyd Marcus and you, Afrocity. Hopefully people will eventually hear and, more importantly, listen. Keep howling into the wind!

  3. Janis Says:

    I’m also strongly pro-choice. It’s why I refuse to align myself with liberals, because I know their support of it, just like their support for women’s equality, is nowhere to be found when the chips are down. Far from moving in that direction eventually, I’ve come to realize thanks to last year that they are no more our friends than the right-wing is. NEITHER side is all that different. Your Obamabot friend is in for a rude awakening.

    Maybe not, though. If last year wasn’t enough to do it, if the sight of so many supposedly left-wing liberal, eco-friendly men calling Sarah Palin a cunt wasn’t enough, there may be no hope for them. Some women learn to love their kidnappers, I suppose.

  4. Kathy Says:

    Afrocity, stay angry. You’re writing is fantastic when you’re angry. Happy with the status quo won’t get any of us anywhere.

  5. realwest Says:

    Just another in a long string of intriguing threads, Afrocity. I really like reading your blog – even if I don’t always leave a comment when I read it.
    But I have to say that all “straight” Blacks, Whites, Hispanics and Asians (though Asians seem somewhat more tolerant to me) are prejudiced against gays – of any color or ethnicity. And because they have trouble with reconciling their prejudices against gays and their fondness for the Democratic Party/”liberalism”, it is going to keep on gnawing at them, one person at a time. I know a couple of Log Cabin (gay) Republicans and when I first met them, I asked them how could they possibly be Republicans/conservatives and gay, their individual reponses all amounted to the same thing: Republicans, though equally dismissal of “gays” (fags was the word they used) didn’t really seem to care that much. And if you were a successful entrepenuer, or had reached a level in your profession or occupation of “high distinction” they seemed to care even less about your sexual orientation. It is, of course, difficult to generalise the way I just did, but it too is part of MY life experiences. I think – hell I know – that the Democratic Elites will say they are ok with gays and “some of their best friends are gay” but they really don’t mean it – no, seriously they don’t. The elites (and for all I know this is true of Republican/Conservative elites) seem to only care about your personal – FINANCIAL success. Indeed, of the ten richest people in Congress, 7 are Dems and Nancy Pelosi is numero uno – you have to get to #6 before a Repubican appears.
    All of which seems to me to be a result of their upbringings as children and especially as young(er) adults. Hell, most of the REALLY financially successful young (35 and younger) “newly and quickly rich” folks I knew voted for Obama and they seemed to be of a mind that said “I’ve got mine, screw you.” [see, e.g., bond traders at the now defunct Lehman Brothers] and frankly that attitude is what I see with the Democratic Party and Blacks – not just gays. Yes, the Democrats nominated Obama, but that was more complex than his blackness – a lot of it was anti-Hillary (who, after all, won ALL of the big electoral states -except Obama’s home state of Illinois – and probably a slim majority of the popular vote in the Dem Primaries). Part of it was the “historic” event of nominating and winning the first Black POTUS – without looking at Obamas fairly open opinion about “spreading the wealth”. Now a lot of those same Democrats (who didn’t see or want to know about nominating and winning the first female POTUS) are suffering from “Buyers Remorse”. But they are mostly SHOCKED that Obama didn’t support Gay marriages in California and probably anywhere else.
    And given Obama’s personally “choppy” upbringing, I wonder why he is against gay marriage – upbringing? Democratic “liberal” teaching or “understanding” or that he is Black.
    This is a very complex issue and while I do appreciate your writing about your own experiences – and they were illuminating, I think you’re discourse on Bayard Rustin was truly enlightening, all the more because I never realized how he was treated by the Democrat and Black establishment.
    Perhaps his story would make for an interesting piece by you?

    • afrocity Says:

      Thanks for your comment Real West. The best source on Bayard Rustin is probably the video about him Brother Outsider.

      You said “FINANCIAL success. Indeed, of the ten richest people in Congress, 7 are Dems and Nancy Pelosi is numero uno – you have to get to #6 before a Republican appears.”

      Who are the Republicans? I am sure John McCain is one of them. It does not really matter to me about the money. What disheartens me towards DEMS is this “party of the people” mantra yet the politcians I see give very little of their own time or money. Take Chicago for instance. Donkey party ruled for decades…yet has the poorest crime rate in the nation and highest sales tax.

      • realwest Says:

        Hi Afrocity – well I don’t recall the names of the richest Republicans, but John McCain was NOT one of them. Apparently Sen. McCain – as did most of us when we got home from Vietnam, spent 90% of his money on sex,drugs and rock and roll and the other 10% we just squandered! But the McCain Wealth is vast, but is totally OWNED by John’s wife. U.S. Senators make, iirc, $181,000 a year (with about a $150,000 “expense account”) and by all accounts, except for his homes in Arizona and D.C., which were paid for and are owned by Mrs. McCain, John McCain lives on what he makes. That’s the way they each want it.
        But your point is well taken. It ASTOUNDS me that the Democratic party – which purports to represent the poor and downtrodden (updated with John Kerry to “and working class”) – Americans is SO top heavy with truly wealthy leaders: Pelosi, Kennedy, Kerry, (and of course President Obama) few, if any of whom have ever held a real job and most have worked for the government for most of their lives. And the poor, downtrodden and working class actually believe that the Democrats will look after their interests, despite having no first or even second hand knowledge of what poor, downtrodden and working class people live like. It’s one reason why the Dems/Liberals “classic” response to any economic or other crisis among the poor, etc. is to throw money at whatever the problem du jour is. They really don’t understand the basic values inherent in EARNING YOUR OWN WAY in society; in being able to hold your head up and know that you don’t depend on “the Man” to house you, feed you, and clothe you (as long as you continue to vote for them, that is.).
        Furthermore, this continues to contribute to the “class war” meme that Obama pushes, usually with more subtlety than say NYS Attorney General Cuomo, and why most White Americans tend to think of “Welfare” as a Black or Hispanic problem when in reality, there are far more White People on Welfare than there are minorities.
        And, of course, no one truly speaks for the working poor – those folks who for whatever reason cannot earn enough money to get very far above the “poverty line” but persist in trying to do so – usually without any governmental assistance at all.


Comments are closed.