Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Sunday Soliloquy: The Birth Of My Political Uncertainty May 17, 2009

Filed under: Abortion,Pro-Life — afrocity @ 10:33 AM
Tags: , , , , , ,

Baby LifeSince the beginning of Autographed Letter Signed, I have devoted Sunday to reflections on my past. As you can tell, I am haunted by memories of my mother and childhood and spend considerable time writing about events that occurred during some of our darkest times. Even so, the primary commitment of this blog remains loyal to political matters. Autographed Letter Signed is a living political archive of sorts. It is not my life diary. I would not subject you to that. However, I often find that one’s political beliefs are connected to their past. Of course there are times when this is not the case. Take “Ann” for instance, a woman I met through an Illinois GOP group for women. Ann was raised in an uber- liberal household. Her parents were Volkswagen van driving hippies who grew weed in their basement. Like myself, Ann lived in Manhattan during the September 11th tragedy. 9/11 changed Ann’s political beliefs forever. She had lost a dear friend and found herself becoming increasingly disenchanted with leftist ideologies. She did not vote in 2004 and voted for McCain/Palin in 2008.

In contrast, the birth of my inner Republican was more gradual. It was always there incubating and kicking the shit out of me. My mother would say something liberal and there it was sticking a foot from the inside of my belly and into my mouth. Nothing I did would get rid of the thing. No matter how many trips to Whole Foods I made for soy milk and organic chard, despite my joining that student chapter of Amnesty International , there was no aborting my conservative thoughts. Strengthening with my age it finally got the best of me in 2008. It was unceremonious and mostly self-congratulatory. At first I could not verbalize the new Afrocity to anyone except my PUMA pals. By Obama’s inauguration I was somewhat emboldened. I expressed my conservative views more openly. My circle of liberal acquaintances began to decrease. It was disconcerting but a relief to my pocketbook as they often wanted to eat out all the time. As with any new edition, the birth changed me and there were adjustments and compromises to be made.

I will always and forever remain an advocate of pro-choice. Comedian Dennis Miller who is a conservative spoke on the issue of abortion and made a brilliant quote that sums up my feelings perfectly:

“And by the way, my belief is that if men were the ones getting pregnant, abortions would be easier to get than food poisoning in Moscow.”- Dennis Miller

No one has the right to tell me what to do with my body. Period. I do find the pro-life vs. pro-choice debate rather fascinating. Last week, Gallop released poll results on the number of Americans who are pro-life vs. pro-choice:

Los Angeles Times

51% identify as ‘pro-life’ in U.S.
It’s the first time the Gallup Poll finds ‘pro-choice’ outweighed — at 42% — and a near-reversal of last year’s figures.
By Robin Abcarian
May 16, 2009

At a time when President Obama is trying to convince opponents in the abortion battle that they can find middle ground — in rhetoric, if not reality — a new Gallup Poll shows that more Americans describe themselves as “pro-life” than “pro-choice.”

For the first time since it began asking the question in 1995, Gallup reported Friday, a majority of adults questioned for its annual survey on values and beliefs — 51% — said that when it comes to abortion, they consider themselves “pro-life”; 42% consider themselves “pro-choice.” (The margin of sampling error is plus or minus 3 percentage points.)

This represents a significant shift, Gallup noted. As recently as last year, 50% of respondents called themselves “pro-choice” and 44% identified themselves as “pro-life.”

Moderate and conservative Republicans accounted for the change; Democrats’ attitudes toward abortion remained constant. “It is possible,” Gallup said in its analysis, that the president “has pushed the public’s understanding of what it means to be ‘pro-choice’ slightly to the left, politically.”

Regarding abortion restrictions, the largest proportion of Americans supports legal abortion only in certain circumstances — as has been true since 1975 — according to Gallup. This year the figure is 53%.

cheetah fetus

cheetah fetus

During my conversations with Obama supporters, I was warned that a vote for Sarah Palin was a vote to eradicate Roe V. Wade from our lives. I did not believe them and voted for McCain anyway. Call me naive but I think that Roe V. Wade is here to stay. My pro-choice stance was one of the few remaining threads that kept me tied to the Democrats. In 2008, tired of voting with my uterus and melanin count, I finally cut the cord, took off my gown and checked out. No wheelchair needed, I ran out of Donkey Memorial Hospital and jumped into a taxicab butt naked.

When I had partly recovered from being a liberal, my conversations about being pro-choice focused on privacy and liberty more so than “when does life begin? ” questions.

In high school, our history teacher held a debate between a pro-life advocate and a representative from Planned Parenthood. I was about 16 at the time and even then I thought the Planned Parenthood woman’s argument that life does not begin at conception was bogus. I believe that life begins at conception. That still does not make me a pro-life advocate. As the debate between the two women went on, my African American classmates became rather vocal in favor of pro-life. I was not surprised since two of them were in class and pregnant. My eyes rolled over at them, I was anti-sex and a virgin I would remain until 27 years of age. By now the projection screen at the front of the classroom was showing the pro-life film Silent Scream. Before the debate we were asked by a show of hands, how many of us were for abortion and how many against. Out of 32 students, about 15 were pro-choice. When we were asked the same question after the debate, only 3 students raised their hand in favor of being pro-choice. I was one of them and the other two were Caucasian women (one of whom later had two abortions).

After history class, gym was next. We were in the swimming block which meant either changing into our swimsuits or feigning our periods. I would have my period for the 3rd time that month and sat on the side of the pool watching the others complete their laps. Suddenly, the smell of chlorine was over taken by the stench of vomit. “Glynn” a pregnant student had lost her lunch on the aqua tiled pool side. It was a school rule that pregnant students were a matter that we could not openly discuss. But everyday there Glynn was with her stomach getting ever so larger and now here she was in a moo moo bathing suit spewing the free lunch program for all to see. Viewed one way, it was an unfortunate and embarrassing incident for Glynn. Yet I could not help but feel holier than thou because I would never be in that situation. Knocked up by the school clown, an uncertain future, too big to attend prom…Like my mother. Like my grandmother. My aunt.

Elephant Fetus

Elephant Fetus

My thoughts turned to my own birth. It was unplanned. I was a bastard (still am). My mother almost got an abortion with both my brother and I. An abortion would have been illegal at the time and one of the coat hanger/baking soda sort.  But for some reason she made the choice to keep us. All four of us. Later I would find out that my mother was raped at 19. This was 4 years after my brother was born. She was raped by an older man she was dating. One evening, her attempts to break up with him went unheard. He punched her in the face, knocking out her and two teeth. She came to with him on top of her. Encountering her subsequent missed periods and rising belly brought on a denial that was deeply severe. So severe that she nearly gave birth on the porch steps. The child of rape was named William. My mother described him as ” a bad baby” . He had red hair which was unusual for an African American baby but considering his paternity not so unusual.
There was no airbrushing, no overwhelming feeling of motherly love. She hated William and even let him burn his arm on a hot iron. “I just let him” she told me looking at the hardwood floor. That was her explanation for the lack of protective intervention. Some women come to love their children born of rape or incest. My mother would not be one of them. At the age of two, William was sent to live with the man that raped my mother. I would never know “Boochie” which was the pet name my older brother had given him. Yes, my older brother remembers his younger brother quite well. He spilled the beans to me about “Boochie” when I was a teenager. I was insulted that mother had kept me in the dark about this child but she said she had a right to her privacy and I could still see the pain in her eyes as she tried to explain what happened to him.

“I never loved him like my other children.” she said. “He was so bad like his father.”

We never spoke about “Boochie” again. My brother never forgave her for giving way his baby brother. After she died, he thought of finding William. I said let it pass. Her wish should be respected.

I remain pro-choice but I have softened some with regards to my views of teenage pregnancy and its results. My 20th high school reunion was last year. I did not attend but my classmates were kind enough to send me some photos. In one of the photos was “Glynn” and her son. The son she was pregnant with while we were in school. The son who made her throw up at the pool. He was now in his 20’s, beautiful and accomplished. My teen aged disdain was converted into a mature smile. Without ever going there, I internalized Glynn’s love as I watched her beam with her accidental, unplanned, inconvenient bundle of joy.

Autographed Letter Signed,

AFROCITY

 

36 Responses to “Sunday Soliloquy: The Birth Of My Political Uncertainty”

  1. bluelyon Says:

    Powerful. Thank you.

  2. realwest Says:

    This post was Powerful, Provocative and Profound. It is a subject of which I don’t know that I would be strong enough to write about myself. Not the part about being born a “bastard”, a consequence of rape. But the part about Boochie and William.
    I must confess that I don’t understand your mother’s attitude towards “Boochie”; that she was raped by a hateful bad man goes without saying, really. I can’t conjure up an image of a man who would rape a woman who wasn’t a hateful, bad man.
    But I will confess that I was – still am, I suppose – surprised, even stunned – at your mother’s reaction to Boochie. Clearly Boochie – although the result of a crime committed by a hateful, bad man – was not a hateful, bad child. Perhaps just seeing Boochie made her think of the son of a bitch who “fathered” Boochie so much, that your mother couldn’t stand the site of him; that his burning himself with an iron WHILE SHE WATCHED was, in her mind’s eye, Boochie’s father who was getting burned. I don’t know.
    As I said, a very Powerful, Provocative and Profound statement.
    And one that I shall reflect upon and no doubt read over again – and again.
    Thank you Afrocity.

    • afrocity Says:

      Realwest, I think it is a myth that all women embrace motherhood or rather there is this outpouring of love when we give birth. It depends on the woman and the circumstances. Clearly Boochie was something that my mother wanted to forget. She was never mean spirited towards my older brother or myself. Therefore her treatment of this child was out of character and I would have to assume the rape had something to do with it.

      • doppelganglander Says:

        Afrocity, you’re right about not every woman immediately loving her child, especially if the circumstances of the child’s birth were something like your brother’s. If every mom became [insert your favorite TV mom here] in the delivery room, you wouldn’t see all those horrible stories of child abuse and murder. Just this week, a woman confessed to smothering her 3-year-old son and burying him at a playground. Clearly, something went terribly awry for that woman. I am pro-life, but I also think women need alternatives. I support adoption as a first choice (especially since I was adopted), but sometimes abortion really is the best of a lot of less-than-ideal alternatives.

  3. Afrocity, get yourself a literary agent. Now. I predict cutthroat competition over who gets to publish your memoirs.

    • afrocity Says:

      I predict an ALA presidency in your future. You should come back they could use a person like you.

    • SYD Says:

      Absolutely!

      And make sure you are backing up these blog entries. We don’t want to lose any more PUMA history than we already have! I am now concerned that we will not get to see Cinie’s work again. Hers, and so many others.

  4. Woman Voter Says:

    Thanks for letting us know about your story and the heart ache that was felt by your mother and your brothers and you. Rape is some thing that no one wants to talk about and is so often slipped under the rug.

  5. Linda Says:

    You are an excellent writer. Thanks for sharing this very personal story. I too, am a strong support of personal freedom and as such, am a Conservative who is Pro-Choice. Some may argue that Roe v Wade licensed murder – I would argue it licensed life.

    Should that decision ever be struck down, we would go back to the days of coat-hanger abortions and instead of extinguishing the possiblity of lfe, we will lose not only that possibility but quite possible a woman’s life as well.

    Any woman faced with an unplanned pregnancy who has to grapple with the decision of aborting, I believe, does not make that decision lightly and she, and she alone, should be the one to make that choice –

  6. Thanks Afrocity. This is a poignant post and captures the human side of what I barely touched on in my post (www.theblackcommenter.wordpress.com) Abortion is one of those areas with definite shades of black, white, and gray because it is a human issue. Though you and I fall on different sides of the issue, it is clear that we agree on much in terms of the complexity of the issue.

  7. SYD Says:

    Such a timely post, for me!

    I am struggling with the whole Pro-Life/ Pro-Choice issue as well. And, though I took a s/w different approach in my blog today… I can very much feel where you are coming from.

    I am not a Republican. At least not yet. But I knew in my soul that Obama would represent a much bigger set back for women than McCain and Palin ever could.

    I’m coming out of the stupor I was in. The one that told me that if I supported Choice, and Gay rights… I HAD to be a Democrat. As of 2008, I’ve gotten the message …. loud and clear. There are just as many oppressors in the Dem party and there are in the GOP. Just as many haters.

    Now, as much as I don’t like it… I *do* have a choice. RW haters vs. LW haters…. let’s see….

  8. Puma-SF Says:

    Wow, afrocity. Truly amazing. Thank you for sharing.

  9. boldandbald Says:

    For many years I was passively ‘pro-choice’. I always felt, and still feel, that the legality of abortion is something that should be decided at the state level. From that perspective, I suppose, I am still ‘pro-choice’.

    However, in recent years my personal views on the matter have changed somewhat. I would say that the biggest turning point was the birth of my daughter. She was born 10 weeks premature. 2lbs 10oz. She struggled through her first 3 weeks especially, breathing only with the help of technology. After 8 weeks she was released from the NICU and we able to take her home. She was just a hair under 5lbs. Now, three years later, she is healthy and growing more independent every day. After just one year her Dr. said that you would not be able to tell that she had been a premie.

    During those 8 long weeks that we spent in the NICU, I saw so many children brought in there clinging to life; one was less than a pound. And in all that time only once did we arrive at the hospital and know that a child had not made it. The very air was filled with tension and sorrow. I cannot say enough about the people that work at these places. I know that I couldn’t do it. There is absolutely no doubt in my mind now about when life starts, or about the fact that a life is ended with every abortion.

    AC, I know that this world would be a lesser place without you, and the same could be said for so many born into the world under your circumstances. How many AC’s have never been given that chance?

    I guess a big part of my problem with the ‘pro-choice’ crowd is that it seems to me so many of them have become more ‘pro-abortion’ than ‘pro-choice’. I know that isn’t you, AC, but for many it is true. You just have to look at what lengths some people will go to to protect that right to abortion; particularly the late term abortions. If they truly were ‘pro-choice’ than there would be so much more talk about the option of adoption. As you commented earlier, life is a choice, too. A mistaken pregnancy does not have to mean a choice between someone being a teenage mother or an abortion. There are many loving people out there who would gladly raise that child as there own. I know it isn’t that simple when you are the one who is pregnant, but with the proper counseling I believe that for many this would be the best option, and yet so few do it.

    I apologize if this post comes off as preachy. That was not my intent when I started writing it. As I said earlier, I still believe that this is an issue that should be decided at the state level. Having said that, I hope for a day when no abortions are needed or requested. I would think that that would be something even the ‘pro-choice’ crowd would agree with.

    • bluelyon Says:

      I don’t even think it should be decided at the ‘state level.’ Personally, I’m not sure that I could ever have an abortion, and I’m sure that stems from my difficulty in being able to get pregnant in the first place. But as I’ve moved through life, I’ve really come to see this as a privacy issue. And I don’t want the Feds, or my state’s government sticking its collective nose in my personal business. Period. And I agree with manbearpig68:

      Conservatives etc. don’t want government in your business? Don’t try to tell me I can’t smoke, can’t eat this, can’t drive this, can’t live here, can’t have my guns, don’t want taxes and money spent carelessly.. Well, if I was a woman, I sure as hell wouldn’t want anybody telling me I can’t get an abortion.

      Believe it or not, I think 2nd Amendment supporters and pro-choicers should be natural allies, if indeed the 2nd Amendment folks are sincere in their claims of right to privacy. My statement to them for years has been: I’ll keep my nose out of your gun cabinet if you’ll keep your nose out from between my legs. Until then, though, all bets are off.

      • boldandbald Says:

        Bluelyon, the reason I believe that the legality of abortion should be decided at the state level is the same reason I believe something like capital punishment should be decided at the state level. We are a nation of united states, but that does not mean that our laws need to be, or should be, the same in every state. A person who does not agree with capital punishment but lives in a state where capital punishment is legal, has the choice to fight to change the law, just live with it or move to another state where there is no capital punishment. If the laws are the same in every state then choice is taken out of the equation. With the exception of those things that are spelled out in our Constitution as being within the perview of the federal government, the states should be able to decide for themselves what sort of laws they wish to live under.

      • bluelyon Says:

        And you miss my point. I don’t think the “state,” whether it is the federal “state” or one of the fify should be permitted to make the decision for a woman which should be hers alone to make.

    • afrocity Says:

      B&B, I knew this post would strike a cord with you. Can you tell me why most of the pro-life advocates I know are men? What is your reponse to Dennis Miller’s statement? Like I said life is a choice too. I would not personally have an abortion unless it is for my health and safety or I was told I was carrying a child with Downs Syndrome, Yes I would have aborted Trigg if I were Sarah Palin. I just feel that life is hard enough without those complications. I am not a bad person and my answer may sound cruel but you never want the government to make decsions for us. What if they say that tumor removal is not allowed because cells are living? I know this is an extreme example but what if?

      What if, god forbid someone’s wife were raped or daughter and a pregnancy resulted? What if that pregnancy caused such emotional distress that the expectant mother was suicidal? This is why we should not say that abortion is illegal. It is a private matter and one that should stop dividing us politically.

      • boldandbald Says:

        First of all let me say that I never said or, I think, implied that you were anything but a good person. I also don’t believe I ever implied that having an abortion makes a person ‘bad’. I do question a person’s morality if they choose to use abortion as a ‘contraceptive’, but I don’t think that is what we are talking about here.

        Secondly, I never said that I believe abortion should be illegal. I said that it should be decided on at a state level, rather than a federal level. For me personally, I would do everything within my power to prevent an abortion by someone that I loved, excepting, of course, the usual caveats.

        As for Dennis Miller’s comment, it is very likely true. I can’t possibly say how my feelings would differ if I were a woman, however. I can only say how I feel now.

        I did state in one of my posts that rape is a very different situation. The psychological impact of rape on the victim certainly makes an abortion in these sorts of situations much more understandable. However, I don’t believe that this justifies all abortions.

        I hesitate to write this last part, because I respect your opinions and your ability to debate rationally. Perhaps that is why I must write it. The question about tumor removal is ridiculous and, I think, hurts your case more than it helps it. It is like when the anti-same-sex-marriage crowd says that it will lead to people wanting to marry goats or something. Anyone that seriously proposes banning the removal tumors because a cell is ‘alive’ would be laughed right into oblivion.

        I have to say that I do find it very interesting that you hold the opinion you do given the fact that had it been legal when your mother was younger you and your brothers would never have been born. I would think that the way you turned out, and the good that I am sure you have done in your life, have been the perfect argument against aborting a child.

        Lastly, I would like to thank you for telling your story in such deeply moving way. I commented on the newer thread that I, like several others here have commented, would love to see you write your story in book form. I know that you would reach many people with your story and your ability to write.

      • afrocity Says:

        B&B my apology, I know you were not saying that I am a bad person, we both think too much of each other and besides you are the only loyal blog fan I have that comes by everyday. I adore you and I think this is one of the few things we disagree on. There will never be down dings between us. LOL

        This may be a stretch but my mom would probably be alive had she not had us. My brother hated, HATED when she got pregnant with me because he was had just made 15 and here she goes again getting “knocked up” with no husband on welfare, etc, etc. Bold my life was difficult you know that but I am here now so I guess it was meant to be.

        But she could have aborted us anyway even before it was legal. Back when it was not safe. A lot of women died- hemorrhaged to death, or destroyed internal organs, threw themselves in front of cars, down staircases.

        If the choice is made I want it to be a safe abortion.

        If I had a one night stand and became pregnant- all went well with the baby, I would have the child. There is no doubt about it.

  10. manbearpig68 Says:

    This is a great post and you really should be writing some books.. First, I am pro choice and I am conservative. Conservatives etc. don’t want government in your business? Don’t try to tell me I can’t smoke, can’t eat this, can’t drive this, can’t live here, can’t have my guns, don’t want taxes and money spent carelessly.. Well, if I was a woman, I sure as hell wouldn’t want anybody telling me I can’t get an abortion.
    Besides personal freedom, There has to be a trade off in todays world of technology, expense, and overpopulation.
    A premature born child kept on a life -support system would last how long without that support? A hundred years ago, the kid wouldn’t have a chance. I met a boy about six months ago that has a disease where he is basically just a head. Everything is done through his eyes.. The rest of his body is non-functioning. He was not supposed to live past a few months but now he is about nine and still going. He is considered a miracle, but the parents spend all kinds of money (and gov. money) for 24 hour care for their child. and their other normal child is on the backburner most of the time. Should this child be kept alive? If the parents and caretakers miss an alarm by 10 to 15 seconds he would die.
    Natural selection was gone out the window a long, long time ago and Population exlposion is going to be the demise of this world. If technology can keep somebody alive and going when that shouldn’t happen then a woman should have the choice of getting a safe abortion..

  11. boldandbald Says:

    The thing is the ‘pro-choice’ argument often comes down to not wanting the government to interfere with a woman’s body, and while, in theory, that sounds fine, the fact is there is another life here that we are talking about. What are that person’s rights? What are that person’s choices?

    mbp68, I understand that sometimes there are quality of life decisions that need to be made by parents. I can’t fault someone for choosing to do whatever it takes to keep their child alive. I also understand if someone were to make the opposite choice. My discussion of premature birth was only intended to express the experience in my life that changed my way of looking at the situation. I think that, for the most part, the debate about abortion centers around the abortion of otherwise healthy babies. When there are situations that put the life of the mother in jeopardy, or where the quality of the child’s life is in question, then this is an entirely different discussion.

    • bluelyon Says:

      You contradict yourself. You cannot say that the state has a right to intervene in a woman’s choice to terminate a pregnancy and then argue that end-of-life or quality-of-life choices should be made privately within a family with no interference from the state.

      • boldandbald Says:

        The only contradiction is that I recognize the fact that not everyone holds my opinion and therefore I believe that people should be allowed to vote yea or nay as to what the law in their state says. I am not the one trying to impress my opinion on the entire population of this country. As with most things, I believe in letting the people have the vote.

        As for this notion that this is solely the choice of the mother, last time I checked having a baby requires a father as well. Assuming the father is not a rapist, which certainly changes the situation, I believe that he should have some say as well. The ultimate decision is obviously the mother’s, but to completely discount the desires of the father is just wrong. The baby is just as much his as hers. Just because my wife carried our daughter doesn’t make her any less mine. I know that isn’t very ‘PC’ of me, but that is the way I see it.

      • bluelyon Says:

        Unfortunately, I can’t reply to your reply, but this will post right below it.

        You wrote: ” The ultimate decision is obviously the mother’s, but to completely discount the desires of the father is just wrong. ”

        Who here said anything about not letting the father have a say? Everyone here has said that this is a PRIVATE decision. Private does not necessarily mean ONE PERSON. If the relationship between the man and the woman is good, why would you think they would not discuss and decide together? If she chooses NOT to tell him, there is something wrong with the relationship, and abortion or not, they’re going to have problems down the line, wouldn’t you agree? But again, this is a decision between the two of them and is none of any body else’s business. This isn’t the ‘state’s’ business, nor any other single voter in that state. It’s their decision to make. Not mine. Not yours. Not Barack Obama’s or Nancy Pelosi’s or Dick Cheney’s either. Further, if she chooses to not have the baby, are you saying that the state should have the right to force her to do so? This feels like the opposite side of the coin of the forced abortions of China. Either way, the state is the one deciding how many children a woman can (or must) have.

        That’s not the country I want to live in.

      • boldandbald Says:

        Blue:

        “a woman’s choice to terminate a pregnancy ”
        “to make the decision for a woman”
        “keep your nose out from between my legs”

        These are your comments, not mine. Nowhere in your posts do I see any mention of, never mind consideration for, the father’s rights or feelings.
        As for your comment about the government telling you how many kids you should have, if you read my posts I mention that I wish more people would consider the choice to put a child up for adoption. I also talk about the need for counseling in such situations.

        Having said that, if you go back and read my original post you will see that it was not my intention to start an argument with you or anyone else. My intention was merely to do what others here have done; express my opinion and give some context for how I came about it. I don’t expect that to change anyone’s opinion, just as mine won’t be changed by reading Afrocity’s very eloquent writings. I will leave it at that.

  12. Karagush Says:

    afro this is great. And in my own life, very timely.
    Last night the most precious person in my life was telling me about how when he was young, he was with his mom, in a dentist office, listing to her describe him as a “mistake.” All three of her boys were “mistakes” and “Bastards like their father.”

    Sometimes he will laugh that if you call him a Bastard it cant hurt cuz its only the truth… but i know it HURTS him.
    Last night i saw him bleed over it.

    Confessed he feels like a stranger to the people related to him. Strangely his mom didnt have the kids have any relationship with their family members outside her and the dad (occasionally.) Perhaps it was shame. THis is odd for a hispanic family in CAlifornia, as theres a lot of young women with babies born in high school, no father, or an unreliable gangbanger cholo for dad.

    Your story is something that i think would speak to him. IN so many ways he has had a problematic relationship with his mom, that he tries to do right by, family he never knew about till his older brother told him, and that weird feeling that comes when you feel like your moms ambivalent about your arrival.
    This story really touches my heart. I think there are more people walking around who can relate to you than you realized, when you were growing up. I wish we had gone to high school together. I am so glad we are friends now.

    I agree with the people who say you have exceptional talent as a writer. If you could sit down and put your story out there, i think many many people would read it and meet a kindred soul.

  13. Diane Says:

    Afrocity; I have been a Conservative since I was a teen-ager, many, many years ago. I am also pro-choice for exactly the same reason you are. When I was a teenager, birth control pills were not available. I saw too many pregnant girls humiliated by their family and society in general for getting pregnant and feel that no one should have to endure that.

    A pro-life stance by a candidate has never been a deal breaker for me however. My priorities are limited government, a strong defense, lower taxes and policies that encourage capitalism. I hope to God that some of these Conservatives will get that not every Conservative woman is pro-life and not make that one of the foundations of their candidacy. I am glad that I am not alone in my feelings.

    • afrocity Says:

      Diane, do you happen to know the statistics in terms of how many conservative women are pro-choice v. pro-life? I can’t seem to find any.

  14. joan Says:

    Really interesting blog thanks!


Comments are closed.