Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Right off Brutha:Colin Powell Serves as Black Up for Obama May 7, 2009

black-up

Among my liberal friends, the biggest myth that surrounds my switch to the Republican Party is the assumption that Afrocity now embraces ALL REPUBLICANS. That could not be further from the truth. I did not like Mitt Romney when he was my governor in Massachusetts and I don’t care for him now. I did not have a favorable opinion of George W. Bush when I was a Democrat and I assure you that is still the case today.

I love it when Democrats learn that I am conservative and they immediately launch into Bush bashing.

Well the guy you voted for in 2004-

I cut them off right there. I did not vote for Bush I, I did not vote for Bush II in 2000 or 2004. I voted for the Goracle in 2000. 2004, I thought that Bush and Kerry were both poor candidates so I did not vote. In 2008 I voted for McCain after voting for Hillary Clinton in the Democratic Primary.
So take your “You voted for Bush and he fucked up” and shove it. I know Bush II very well. He was my governor before he was my president. I knew that he would not be good for America.

This idea of Afrocity and the dramatic political shift is a myth. In case you are wondering I am still pro-choice too. Many Democrats clearly believe that when you admit to being a Republican, you are automatically a racist, pro-lifer who voted for Bush.

badassobamashirtHaving said that I want to go on record as saying that I have never liked Former Secretary of State Colin Powell. I did not care for him when I was a Democrat and I don’t care for him now that I am a Republican. His service to our country is admirable and he is a brilliant military strategist but I have always seen demons resting on his back.

During the 2008 elections, Powell’s endorsement of Barack Obama does not illustrate his dissatisfaction with the Republicans. That is a untruth. Personally, I believe that Powell’s endorsement had little to do with partisanship fatigue or dislike for Sarah Palin. His endorsement reflected his inner struggle to determine what his legacy will be in American memory.

It is not easy being a black Republican. The public perception is that the GOP historically identifies most closely with the nation’s white and wealthy. This is highlighted by the party base presiding predominantly in the South. Although the GOP really embodies virtues of liberty and self-reliance for all regardless of race or class, the sentiment that we are bigoted upper-class, religious zealots still persist. Hence the race problem for black republicans.

To be a black Republican or conservative is to be a traitor, an Uncle Tom. You are aiding the party that wants to enslave you. A considerable amount of American Americans believe this and they vote in great majorities as Democrats. 98% of African Americans voted for Barack Obama. Sure Obama ran as a Democrat but I think that high percentage can be contributed to a lot more. Race is the elephant in the room and it ain’t no GOP elephant.

Colin Powell and Barack Obama will never share the same political ideology. They are not cut from the same cloth. Why would he endorse Obama for any reason other than race? I too thought about voting for Obama and the only reason I would have is because Obama is of color. I don’t agree with anything that Barack Obama stands for. He does not possess true leadership ability, he is tragically weak and a pansy concerning foreign affairs. Obama was just the wrong person for the job. That is how I felt in 2008 and I stand by that today.
I am black and my mother would have wanted me to vote for him but I just could not do it for only that reason.

Recently Colin Powell expressed his displeasure with the GOP once again. His whine was one of hundreds he has made claiming that the GOP is too far right and needs moderates.

Congress Daily
Powell Says Shrinking GOP Should Return To The Center

Tuesday, May 5, 2009
by Chris Strohm

The Republican Party is in big trouble and needs to find a way to move back to the middle of the country, former Secretary of State Colin Powell said Monday.

Powell said the GOP is “getting smaller and smaller” and “that’s not good for the nation.” He also said he hopes that emerging GOP leaders, such as House Minority Whip Cantor, will not keep repeating mantras of the far right.

“The Republican Party is in deep trouble,” Powell told corporate security executives at a conference in Washington sponsored by Fortify Software Inc. The party must realize that the country has changed, he said. “Americans do want to pay taxes for services,” he said. “Americans are looking for more government in their life, not less.”

Powell, secretary of State during the first term of former President George W. Bush, made waves last year when he came out for the Democratic presidential candidate, then-Sen. Barack Obama of Illinois. Powell described the 2008 GOP candidate, Sen. John McCain of Arizona, as “a beloved friend” but said he told him last summer that the party had developed a reputation for being mean-spirited and driven more by social conservatism than the economic problems that Americans faced.

Powell also criticized other GOP leaders, for bowing too much to the right.

He blasted radio commentator Rush Limbaugh, saying he does not believe that Limbaugh or conservative icon Ann Coulter serve the party well. He said the party lacks a “positive” spokesperson. “I think what Rush does as an entertainer diminishes the party and intrudes or inserts into our public life a kind of nastiness that we would be better to do without,” Powell said.

He also said that Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin, McCain’s running mate last year, is “a very accomplished person” but became “a very polarizing figure.” He said the polarization was created by Palin’s advisers.

Powell said he does not want Republicans to turn into Democrats but rather to build a vibrant party.

colin-powell1General Powell if this is your true assessment then could you please tell me why you failed to endorse John McCain? Your friend and a GOP lite- a RINO- a moderate Republican? Why didn’t you endorse a moderate Republican when you had the chance?

The Colin is full of shit.

Rush Limbaugh of course had a swift retort handy and it seems that we are in agreement.

RUSH: I’m getting e-mail, people here at the studio, “When are you going to talk about Colin Powell?” Folks, I don’t care, I don’t care what Colin Powell says. This kind of stuff is said about me three times a day by all liberals under the sun, and Colin Powell is just another liberal. He did this back in December, and I responded to it then. Look, if you want to know what this is all about, Colin Powell is out there saying the American people want more taxes, they want bigger government. He’s out there saying I am killing the Republican Party while he endorsed and voted for Obama. The Republican Party nominated the exact kind of candidate Colin Powell thinks the Republican Party should have and he still endorsed Obama. He’s just mad at me because I’m the one person in the country that had the guts to explain his endorsement of Obama. It was purely and solely based on race. There can be no other explanation for it.

What Colin Powell needs to do is close the loop and become a Democrat, instead of claiming to be a Republican interested in reforming the Republican Party. He’s not. He’s a full-fledged Democrat.

The only reason to endorse Obama is race. I don’t think Powell thinks he could get away with not endorsing Obama because the Republicans nominated the exact candidate that had the exact campaign, other than Sarah Palin, that Colin Powell advocated. So I don’t care. This kind of stuff is said about me ten times a day by liberals. He’s just one of them doing it.

So please General Powell, do yourself a favor and switch parties. Obama needs more black up and God knows he could use your advice concerning foreign policy.

In closing I want to leave you with today’s history lesson on “Racism in the Democratic Party”.

Autographed Letter Signed,


AFROCITY

 

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers