Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

No Compassionate Conservative Tears For John Murtha (1932-2010) February 8, 2010

I cannot tell a lie.  When I heard the news of the death of John Murtha (D-PA) after complications from gall bladder surgery,  I did not have one moment of concern. Quite honestly,  what did come to mind was Murtha’s words describing his own constituents as “rednecks” during the 2008 presidential campaign.

There’s still folks that have a problem voting for someone because they are black. This whole area, years ago, was really redneck.–John Murtha

Comments like the one above are what made me despise the race baiting and sparring between the high brow liberal elites and so called “Joe Six Pack” common folk.   If you initially refused to vote for Barack Obama , John Murtha and the Democrats were going to white guilt you all the way to your local polling station.

My second response to the death of Murtha involves his lack of respect for our troops fighting in the Iraq war.  Listening to Mutha’s  hasty remarks in  May 2006 branding  a squad of Marines who stormed a house in Haditha, Iraq  after a roadside bomb attack  as “cold blooded killers”  it was hard to believe that Murtha, a military veteran himself would utter such things before an official investigation was launched.

Still we mush honor the lives of the dead and I would like to included an interesting except from Vanity Fair magazine December 2006.  A simple Proust questionnaire which shows the Murtha behind the controversial remarks.  As we on the right wonder what will become of his vacant House seat, we can only be amused by such light hearted trivia before the ensuing political hailstorm.

-ALS AFROCITY

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Good health.

What is your greatest fear?
I fear for the future of our country because of the direction this administration is taking us in with the debacles in Iraq. We’ve lost our credibility around the world, and our young people are going to have to foot the bill for this war well into the future.

Which historical figure do you most identify with?
Teddy Roosevelt as president: “Speak softly and carry a big stick.” Tip O’Neill as Speaker of the House: “All politics is local.”

Which living person do you most admire?
The wounded troops I visit almost every week in the hospitals. These young veterans inspire me because of their immense courage, their dedication to their country, and the obstacles they overcome every day.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Impatience.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Incompetence.

What is your favorite journey?
I’ve been all over the world during my 32 years in Congress, but my favorite trip is traveling back and forth from Washington to my district, in western Pennsylvania. I enjoy the solitude and peacefulness of the beautiful countryside. The real beauty of the trip comes during the fall months, when the leaves change their hues.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Reticence: the unwillingness to speak out when you feel it’s the right thing to do.

Which living person do you most despise?
I can’t imagine taking the time to actually despise anyone.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
I say yes too often.

What is your greatest regret?
I have no regrets. I always look ahead.

When and where were you happiest?
I enjoy every day.

What is your current state of mind?
I love my job.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I’m comfortable with who I am. I try to use my God-given resources to the best of my ability every day.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Yet to come …

What is your most treasured possession?
I have several: the letters and memorabilia I’ve been given over the years by people I’ve helped, my great-grandfather’s Civil War hat, two golf clubs President Clinton gave me on January 19, 2001—his very last day in office.

What is your most marked characteristic?
Early in my career, I used to sit by myself on the floor of the House to learn policies and procedures. Wilbur Mills, former chairman of the Ways and Means Committee, asked me why I was always by myself and what I was doing. When I told him, he gave me two pieces of advice that I’ve tried to live by and that I’ve become known for: specialize in one area, and always keep your word.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Courage.

Who are your favorite writers?
Leo Tolstoy, Winston Churchill, and David McCullough.

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?
Winston Churchill. He just couldn’t have been real.

What is it that you most dislike?
Exploitation, mischaracterization, and weakness.

What is your motto?
“Live every day to the fullest.”


 

18 Responses to “No Compassionate Conservative Tears For John Murtha (1932-2010)”

  1. HT Says:

    My apologies, I thought you were a humanist.

    • afrocity Says:

      (So that’s how I get her to post)

      • HT Says:

        I don’t think you understand my comment. I am for the most part apolitical because I am not in America. I have watched you since your first appearance on the Confluence, and I followed you here, not because I believed in democrat versus republican, because that is a sucker’s game – they are the same, under the control of the same oligarchical influences, indebted to the same money managers. Just because I thought you represented a new view – same as some others on the other side, and there was hope for both sides. Honestly, this post is not ….well, it is my opinion – but it was in bad taste and totally partisan, not humanistic at all. Just my opinion of course. I’ve come here every day since you started, just haven’t commented, but after today, I don’t think I’ll be coming back. After your heartrending descriptions of your life with and love for your mother, this post is just too…just too for me. A man died, a man who was re-elected many many times because he was loved. A man who supported his country in combat. His death should not ever be a bone of contention over who did what to whom. Perhaps this time, you should have laid off of proving your conservative credentials and remained silent. Just my opinion of course, but this saddens me. I had so much hope for you. I apologize if I’ve caused you distress, but this post ……..
        I know you won’t miss me, because I rarely commented, but I wish you the best in your chosen field, and hope you will be successful.

      • afrocity Says:

        HT, I am partisan. I write what I feel. I will tip toe around no reader not even you who I respect. I do not respect Murtha, never did and his death will not change that for me. I do not believe in aspartame coating anything for particular readers to digest. And as far as proving conservative credentials, if your read my post from Sunday you will see that I have been well aware that you can’t please all of the people all of the time and you certainly cannot please those that are there some of the time.

        You be well.

  2. manbearpig68 Says:

    AC said “Still we must honor the lives of dead”. I thought that was extremely nice considering that the guy was a crusty old dickhead that really should have been out of office years ago.

    Did Obama meet with him in the last week or so?

    • afrocity Says:

      I can’t believe PA re-elected him after his screwy race baiting statements. I have nothing against older people in office. McCain is stiil functioning doesn’t sound crazy but Murtha obviously needed to do the folks in PA a favor.

      Term limits…WE NEED TERM LIMITS.

  3. John Morris Says:

    What’s so sad is the town of Johnstown itself. I live near there in Pittsurgh.

    In recent years Johnstown has built whatever economy it had on the helpings of Pork scraps Murtha brought in. In recent years, I think he was less popular, but people felt helplessly dependent on having a senior house member to “get theirs.”

    http://www.tnr.com/article/politics/murthaville

    Similar thing going on in West Virginia.

  4. Kempite Says:

    Sister….let me tell you something………You hit this nail right on the head. Great post!!!!!!!

  5. Peter Says:

    I read the news of his death and did not cry. I seriously doubt that Murtha is now someplace where “the streets are guarded by United States Marines.” More likely he’s mentioning that it’s awful hot here.

  6. Awesome post I just Love it, Keep adding more like this!

  7. Phil Sauter Says:

    My first thought when I read of his passing was “Adios MF!”

  8. John Morris Says:

    I know this may be a slight exageration, but people need to take a hard look at Johnstown. This is where the whole country is going.

    Almost no truely free, independent, private economy. Pictures and thanks to the local great leader almost everywhere you look. Hopeless dependency.

    Of course, Murtha could get away with this in a small district by looting money from the general treasury. The country as a whole can’t.

    This is why people think a hyperinflationary depression is where we are headed.

  9. John Morris Says:

    Well, I’m honored if you were referring to me. However, I have to be honest–I actually have never really done more than pass through Johnstown. I do know a bit from people who live in or near there but I’ve lost touch with them and also from the Pittsburgh papers which do some Johnstown coverage.

    I have a blog in Pittsburgh that attempts to do regional arts stuff so I’ve been on a lot of websites of Johnstown non profits.

    It seemed like there was always a big picture and a long page of thanks and praise to Murtha an every site. I wish I had done some screen captures.

    Really it seems like a strangely beautiful town but very sad and isolated.

    I guess, what I said was a bit misleading. Hopefully someone who really knows the area better will post. Now that Murtha is dead, it will take less courage. The whole economy there pretty much revolved around him.

  10. Kathy Barkulis Says:

    Not even the liberal press made much of his death. They were too busy criticizing Sarah Palin’s speech at the Tea Party Convention. In the middle of laughing at her for writing notes on the palm of her hand, the MSNBC anchor broke in to say, “We’ve just received word that John Murtha died today in the hospital. Now back to that buffoon, Sarah Palin….”

    • afrocity Says:

      Kathy I noticed it too that no one said anything. I guess the media treated Murtha like the red neck he thought his constituents were.

      • Kathy Barkulis Says:

        The liberal media will never admit it, but when Murtha called our marines at Haditha “murderers,” and then never apologized when they were all acquitted, even they knew what Murtha’s character was made of….horse shit. Here was a man who was a decorated Viet Nam vet, who knew the travesty of what Viet Nam vets went through when they returned home, and he did the same damn thing to the Marines at Haditha. Murtha was a despicable man, who stole from the tax payers to bring his pork back home, and then he dishonored our vets. Why would anyone honor this disgusting man?

        To the commenter above, HT, you know nothing of what you speak.


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers