Autographed Letter Signed

A Mostly Center-Right Place For Those With Irritable Obama Syndrome and Diversity Fatigue

Illinois Democrats Fail To Get Out The “Stiff Vote” February 3, 2010

I voted!!!!

Yesterday, I braved the 25 degree temperatures, ice and  snow to vote in the Illinois primary.  The big races were for Barack Obama’s old senate seat, now held by Roland Burris and the governor’s race.

I was pretty clear in my intention to vote for Mark Kirk for the GOP nominee for U.S. Senator.  For governor, I chose Jim Ryan.   Both are considered RINOs and I was thoroughly chastised by my friends on the right for not choosing “true conservatives” like senate candidate Patrick Hughes (R-IL).

RINO fraternizing aside, my reasoning was that I wanted a strong candidate to beat the Democrats come November. When it comes to the U.S. Senate race, Mark Kirk may be a RINO but he has a better chance than Hughes at beating the Obama basketball hoops buddy,  Alexi Giannoulias (D-IL).

For the most part, the actual voting  was pretty uneventful unless you would like to count my not being asked to show proof of identification or the look on the face of the polling officials as they scrambled to unearth a Republican ballot for me.

I went in the booth and made my choices.  Immediately I felt a sense of guilt when I realized that I had not researched some of the other races more closely, if at all.  For instance, Cook County Water Commissioner…WTF?  When I did not know anything about a race, I voted for the woman on the ballot or the name I liked best.  That is sad and I promise never to do that again. I will never be an uniformed voter.  Admittedly, I got caught up in only the big races and forgot about the small ones. Those jobs, judges, commissioners are all important to someone.  I should have taken it more seriously.  Like many on the right, I want Illinois to be another Massachusetts.

This morning I was pleased to see that Mark Kirk had indeed won the GOP nomination. Sean Hannity was not so much but we can reform a RINO more easily than a jackass.  Kirk voted for TARP, so yes, there is a little work to do (drags Kirk to a dark room with a dead fish in hand).

My guy Jim Ryan, lost the governor’s primary race but I am ok with that.  The big news seems to be the battle for the DEM nomination as Gov. Quinn is in a dead heat tie with possibly two other candidates.

From this article in the Chicago Tribune:

Quinn says primary over; votes still being counted this morning

by Monique Garcia

Gov. Pat Quinn this morning called on Democrats to get behind his campaign for governor, but stopped short of calling on rival state Comptroller Dan Hynes to give up while votes are still being counted in their tight primary contest.

Hynes told supporters after midnight that there were still votes to be counted; this morning Cook Countyofficials were to resume tabulating ballots from 24 precincts they didn’t get to after midnight.

“I know where the precincts are and just since midnight of last night our lead has lengthened,” Quinn said to reporters after thanking voters in Chicago this morning. “It was a close election, there’s no doubt about it.”

“But after it’s over, people come together. I haven’t won every election of my life, sometimes I’m on the short end and life goes on. It’s important for people I think to understand the Democratic party has very robust contest in the primary, but the tradition in our party is that the candidates come together after the primary and work together for the candidates in the fall.”

Asked if he was calling on Hynes to concede, Quinn said “I’m not going to tell anybody what to do.

“I just think the results are in, the primary is over, the people heard both candidates and got a chance to vote,” Quinn said. “After that’s over, it’s time to count the votes and move on.”

“The numbers speak for themselves”

My ballot

Sure the numbers will speak for themselves until you keep recounting until you win. Sounds like the Illinois Democrats failed to get out the stiff vote.  I will keep you posted on how this turns out.

Autographed Letter Signed,

AFROCITY

 

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers